LibGuides: MICR 4321: Microbiology Capstone: Article Alerts

Creating RSS Feeds from databases

Create your own Google Scholar RSS feed
Google Scholar provides the advantage of searching for journal articles in multiple disciplines at one time, finding a list of sources that may not be available from a single database. This link provides directions to set up an RSS Feed in Google Scholar.
Create your own AGRICOLA and CAB Abstracts RSS feeds
AGRICOLA is the premier library databases for conducting agricultural research. The database ise on the ProQuest platform, so instructions for setting up RSS feeds are identical.
Create your own Web of Science RSS feeds
Web of Science is one of the most comprehensive library databases across all sciences, encompassing (but not limited to) life sciences and agricultural resources. Web of Science will walk you through the process of setting up RSS feeds from its vast resources. You'll need to set up a free account with Web of Science to do this.

Searching Databases

While you're a student you never need to pay for articles. If you're searching through Google Scholar, link your UW email for access to full-text articles through the library's subscriptions. The short video below will show you how to connect Google Scholar to the UW Databases.

Table of Contents Alerts

Most databases and publishers provide the capacity to alert readers to tables of contents in new journal issues.

To create an alert in a database (such as PubMed):

Go to the database
Perform a search by the journal title (In PubMed, use Journals in My NCBI Databases)
Save the search in your personal folder (in PubMed, this is MyNCBI)
Set the frequency that you want to receive the alert via email or RSS feed

To create an alert in a publisher site:

Go to the journal web site
Look for a button that indicates receiving the Table of Contents
Clicking this button will require registration. Some publishers require subscription or association membership to sign up for alerts. Some journals, especially open access (freely available scholarly journals) will offer a table of content service at no charge.

Current Articles Alert Services from PubMed

PubMed allows you to search by topic and use your MyNCBI account to create an RSS feed that goes to your email or RSS feed aggregator. You can also set up an alert that will send the table of contents of specific journals.

Set up your MyNCBI account:

Go to PubMed
In the upper right hand corner of the screen, click on Sign In to NCBI
In the large box, click on Register for a NCBI account
Register for an account (free)
Watch these videos to see how to set up RSS alerts using MyNCBI

Saving Searches (My NCBI)

Save Searches and Set E-mail Alerts (2 min., YouTube video, January 2012)
E-mail Alerts for Articles from Your Favorite Journals (3 min., March 2012)