LibGuides: MICR 4321: Microbiology Capstone: Home

Ask a Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

307-766-6830

Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Engineering: Architectural, Civil, Environmental, Engineering: Chemical & Energy, Engineering: Electrical & Computer, Engineering: Mechanical , Geology & Geophysics, Mathematics & Statistics, Nuclear Engineering, Physics & Astronomy

Microbiology Databases

Microbiology Blogs

Living in a Microbial World
Blog for Nicola Fawcett at the University of Oxford
Microbe Post
Blog from Microbiology Society that reports on latest research, videos, and podcasts.
Microblogology
Blod of Dr. Lorraine Cramer who teachers at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Mostly Microbes
A blog for Anne M. Estes that covers stories of the microbe world.

Introduction to RSS Feeds & Blogs

How do scientists stay current in their field?
RSS feeds and blogs are important communication tools for scientists and professionals. This guide is an introduction to RSS feeds and blogs for students interested in mycology and the human microbiome. It includes instructions on creating an RSS feed of current articles by topic from databases, table of contents services from PubMed and publishers, RSS feeds that provide current news and professional blogs that reflect comments from scientists on current relevant research and topics.

Introduction to Journals and Databases

The library provides access to many different types of databases and journals which you can access through the library catalog or while on campus from their webpages (as long as you are connected to campus internet). There are also some open access journals in this guide which you can access for free anywhere.

Aggregators--Organizing Your RSS Feeds and Blogs

An RSS feed aggregator is a way to organize and keep track of RSS feeds and blogs. Using an aggregator allows you to find recent posts from blogs and websites you've chosen to follow in one place. Some aggregators are web based and some provide a link in your browser. If you prefer, you can also have RSS alerts come directly to your email.

Feedly
Free web RSS reader
Live Bookmarks
From Mozilla, this product is used with Firefox.

Microbiology Journals

Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology
Is part of Springer Link and focuses on topics related to prokaryotic or eukaryotic cells, relevant enzymes and proteins, applied genetics and molecular biotechnology, genomics and proteomics, applied microbial and cell physiology, and environmental biotechnology.
Environmental Microbiology
is part of the Wiley Online Library and covers topics related to microbial process in the environment, communities, and microbial interactions.
Food Microbiology
is part of Elsevier and covers topics that have a clear connection to food microbiology.
Frontiers of Microbiology
is a peer-reviewed journal covering many different spectrums of microbiology with many articles about fermentation.
International Journal of Food Microbiology
is part of the International Committee on Food Microbology. Publishes on all aspects of food microbiology.
Journal of Applied Microbiology
is part of the Wiley Online Library and is part of the Society of Applied Microbiology. Publishes on microbiology topics in relation to agriculture and soils, animals and animal health, biodefence, biotransformation, biodegradation and bioremediation, etcetera.
Microbiological Research
is published through Elsevier and covers topics related to microbiology and genetics, molecular and cell biology, biotechnology, and environmental microbiology and ecology.
World Journal of Microbiology and Biotechnology
is part of SpringerLink and covers topics related to all aspects of applied microbiology and biotechnology.