Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Historical Newspapers: Print Newspapers

This guide provides information for accessing historical newspaper that may be in print, microform, or digitized. The date range for historical newspapers is loosely defined as five years ago or longer.

Current Issues of Print Newspapers

Current Newspapers

The starting place to obtain newspaper articles is from current newspaper issues or ones from the recent past. These newspapers must be used in the library. Below we list titles that the Libraries subscribe to and titles that the Libraries store until the content is replaced in a more permanent form. 

If you have difficulty locating current issues of newspapers, ask for assistance at the Help Desk on Coe level 2 near the entrance.

The Chisum Special Collections has original print issues of select historic Laramie newspapers available for on-site research.

Current Newspaper Subscriptions

The Libraries' newspaper collection is located in Coe level 1 central.  It is housed on display shelving that can be tipped up to find issues from the latest two months.  Our newspapers are arranged alphabetically within Wyoming, national, and international collections.

  • Most newspapers have a website that provides selected articles for a limited time.
  • Titles marked with @ have online subscriptions.
Basin Republican Rustler New York Times @
Billings Gazette News from Indian Country
Branding Iron (UW) News Letter Journal (Newcastle)
Bridger Valley Pioneer Northern Wyoming Daily News (Worland)
Buffalo Bulletin Pine Bluff Post
Casper Journal Pinedale Roundup
Casper Star Tribune Platte County Record-Times
Chicago Tribune @ Powell Tribune
Cody Enterprise Ranger (Riverton)
Denver Post @ Rawlins Daily Times
Douglas Budget Rocket-Miner (Rock Springs)
Dubois Frontier (website has only subscription information) Saratoga Sun
Financial Times (London) Sheridan Press
Gillette News Record Shoshoni Pioneer (no website)
Glenrock Independent Star Valley Independent
Green River Star Sublette Examiner
Greybull Standard Sundance Times
Guernsey Gazette Telegram (Torrington)
Jackson Hole News & Guide Thermopolis Independent Record
Kemmerer Gazette Times (London)
Lakota Times (South Dakota) Uinta County Herald
Lander Journal (refer to Ranger) Village Voice
Laramie Boomerang Wall Street Journal @
Lingle Guide Washington Post @
Literaturnaya Gazeta (Russia) Weston County Gazette
Los Angeles Times @ Wind River News (no website, refer to Ranger)
Lovell Chronicle Wyoming Pioneer (Hulett) (refer to Sundance Times)
Lusk Herald Wyoming Tribune Eagle (Cheyenne)
Moorcroft Leader  

Newspapers in Storage

Back issues of newspapers awaiting microfilm replace are kept in storage and may be requested at the Coe Library Help Desk.  Newspaper storage typically includes several months' worth of papers.  Storage newspapers are listed below and use the color code: Wyoming newspapers, national newspapers, and international newspapers

  • Boomerang (Laramie) 
  • Casper Star Tribune
  • Daily Times (Rawlins)
  • Denver Post
  • Jackson Hole News & Guide
  • Los Angeles Times
  • New York Times
  • News-Record (Gillette)
  • Northern Wyoming Daily News (Worland)
  • Ranger (Riverton)
  • Rocket-Miner (Rock Springs)
  • Sheridan Press
  • Times (London)
  • Wall Street Journal
  • Washington Post
  • Wyoming Tribune-Eagle (Cheyenne)

Older issues of other newspapers are recycled as we run out of space in the Current Newspaper shelving.  Requested issues must be used within Coe Library and returned to the Help Desk.

If you don't find the issues you need on the current newspaper shelves, ask for assistance at the Help Desk (Coe level 2 near the entrance) for issues in storage or possibly in microform or electronic files.

Laramie Daily Boomerang and Branding Iron

Chisum Special Collections on Coe level 3 east has fragile, paper copies of several Laramie newspapers available for on-site use. Because these are fragile they must be used in the Reading Room; and photocopies are made by Special Collections staff.  Those interested in these newspapers should be aware that Special Collections hours are shorter than the rest of Coe Library.

To aid researchers to locate specific issues or dates of newspapers published in Laramie and Albany County, see Laramie Newspapers Finding Guide  .

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon