Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Historical Newspapers: Wyoming Digital Newspaper Project

This guide provides information for accessing historical newspaper that may be in print, microform, or digitized. The date range for historical newspapers is loosely defined as five years ago or longer.

Wyoming Digital Newspaper Project

The Wyoming Digital Newspaper Collection can be accessed by clicking this link.

Currently, access to full-text content of all newspapers is limited to University of Wyoming students, faculty, and staff. Click the "Register" menu item and set-up an account using your UW username and password. PDFs of any of the public domain and copyright protected content are immediately available.

Non-UW patrons have access to all public domain content (i.e., newspapers published before 1924). However, newspapers published after 1924 are still protected by US Copyright law and cannot be directly accessed. To obtain PDF copies of copyright protected articles, submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request through their local public or academic library. Any costs associated with the request are assess by the patron's library, not UW.

Program History:

The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) is an ongoing venture between the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Library of Congress, and cultural institutions across the United States to create a public, searchable database of U.S. newspapers.

The University of Wyoming received a grant to digitize their state newspaper collection in 2019, with the goal of submitting approximately 100,000 pages from various Wyoming newspaper titles in the first phase. In September 2020 the first batch, containing The Northern Wyoming Herald and Garland Irrigation Era and The Northern Wyoming Herald, is available on Chronicling America. Since then, many more years of Wyoming newspapers have been added to the collection and more are added each month.

More information on the project can be found on the libraries Digital Initiatives page under Highlighted Projects.

Chronicling America

All states participating in the National Digital Newspaper Program submit data to the Library of Congress Digital Collections Branch's ongoing project, "Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers." 

Patrons may search the online catalog to locate digital images of 17th, 18th, 19th,and 20th Century American newspapers from specific states, counties, and cities. Historic newspapers scanned and submitted by the Wyoming Digital Newspaper Project will eventually be available for public use on this database. More information about the NDNP can be found on Chronicling America's information page.

 

To use Chronicling America, go to their website at chroniclingamerica.loc.gov

  1. Under the "Search Pages" tab, choose the state the newspaper was published in from the first dropdown menu
  2. Set the date range
  3. Input the newspaper title

Chronicling America Tutorial

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon