PHCY 6370: Advanced Pharmacy Experience Orientation: Publicly Available Databases

http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm
Use search box. Search by Drug Name, NDC Code, Drug Class, Set ID. Limit by Human or Animal also available. From the National Library of Medicine.

http://livertox.nih.gov/index.html
Provides information on liver reactions to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
Select Drugs & Supplements. Also available in Spanish. This patient education web site provides disease and medication information from government agencies and national associations. Drug information is provided by American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Other features available are Senior Health, videos and tutorials, and additional information in multiple languages.

http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/sis/htmlgen?DARTETIC
Provides article citations for studies on drug or substance and effects during pregnancy. Select DART from list on left. To limit, click on Limits, enter drug name (generic preferred), date range and language. Does not give rating or link back to FindIT@UW button.

Searchable from the Toxnet main search page, or individually. All records are full text. Topics include Human Health Effects, Emergency Medical Treatment, Animal Toxicity Studies, Metabolism/Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacology, Environmental Standards & Recommendations, Chemical Physical Properties, Chemical Safety & Handling, Manufacturing/Use Information, Laboratory Methods, Synonyms and Identifiers.

http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/sis/htmlgen?LACT
Search Toxnet for multiple database search, then select LACTMED result OR Select LACTMED first, then perform search only in that database.

http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/drugsatfda/index.cfm
Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved innovator and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.

Drugs and Disease Patterns are categorized by legends indicating number of reported incidents and type of respiratory disease. Links back to PubMed citations reporting the specific disease pattern.

http://www.tripdatabase.com/
Evidence-based practice database which includes guidelines. Free registration optional.