LibGuides: PHCY 6370: Advanced Pharmacy Experience Orientation: Database Quick Guide

Newsletters

Medical Letter
Pharmacy full-text newsletter that evaluates new FDA-approved drugs and new information on previously approved drugs back to 1988.

Prescriber's Letter This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy full-text database providing recommendations for those that prescribe drugs. On the Therapeutic Research Center platform.

Guidelines

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Medical reference database that provides evidence-based articles authored by physicians. On the Wolters Kluwer Health platform. NOTE: For use by University of Wyoming students and faculty only.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Medical indexing/full-text database that provide systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodology register, reviews of effects, health technology assessment and economic evaluations. On a Wiley platform.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window
Portal to vetted, evidence-based clinical pratice guideline briefs and scorecards. Free registration required.

TRIP Database
Evidence-based practice database which includes guidelines. Free registration optional.

Drug Identification and Interactions

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy database platform that has drug interactions, IV compatibility, drug identification, drug comparison and Red Book online. On the Micromedex platform.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy database platform that provides clinical databases and clinical modules in the areas of interactions, drug identification, IV compatibility, patient education and toxicology. On the Lexicomp platform.

Patient Education

Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy database platform that provides clinical databases and clinical modules in the areas of interactions, drug identification, IV compatibility, patient education and toxicology. On the Lexicomp platform.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Medical reference database that provides evidence-based articles authored by physicians. On the Wolters Kluwer Health platform. NOTE: For use by University of Wyoming students and faculty only.

MedlinePlus
Select Drugs & Supplements. Also available in Spanish. This patient education web site provides disease and medication information from government agencies and national associations. Drug information is provided by American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Other features available are Senior Health, videos and tutorials, and additional information in multiple languages.

Label information

Drugs @ FDA This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy reference database that provides official information of FDE-approved drug products. On the FDA platform.

DailyMed
Use search box. Search by Drug Name, NDC Code, Drug Class, Set ID. Limit by Human or Animal also available. From the National Library of Medicine.

Books, Electronic

For additional ebooks, go to the UW Libraries' catalog, select Advanced Search. Use either Any Field or select Author, Title, from the dropdown menu if you have a specific book, then use Material Type and select eBook, then click submit.

APhA PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy reference database that provides APhA's textbooks, a NAPLEX review, case studies and JAPhA abstracts. On the APhA platform.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Collection of healthcare ebooks providing library-licensed medical texts and reference sources. Simultaneous user limit of 2 per title. On the TDS Health platform.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy eTextbook database that covers textbooks, curricular materials media, information on drugs and supplements, diagnostic tests, calculators and case studies. On a McGraw-Hill platform.

Complementary/Alternative/Herbal Medications

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative health care indexing/full-text database that covers journals, magazines and reports back to 1990. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Alternative medicine reference database that provides evidence-based information on dietary supplements, functional foods, diets, complementary practices, exercises and medical conditions. On its own platform.

Veterinary Drugs

Plumb's Veterinary Drugs This link opens in a new window
Database of veterinary drug information.
Veterinary Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Veterinary Education in Video delivers content relevant to veterinarians, vet techs, assistants, and other team members, and features demonstrations from many of the field’s most respected experts. All content in the collection comes from content partners approved by the Registry of Approved Continuing Education (RACE), an accreditation that demonstrates a dedication to high standards of quality and accuracy.

NAPLEX Review

APhA PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy reference database that provides APhA's textbooks, a NAPLEX review, case studies and JAPhA abstracts. On the APhA platform.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Pharmacy eTextbook database that covers textbooks, curricular materials media, information on drugs and supplements, diagnostic tests, calculators and case studies. On a McGraw-Hill platform.

PHCY 6370: Advanced Pharmacy Experience Orientation: Database Quick Guide

All Pharmacy Databases

Article Databases