General
Congressional Research Service Reports: Agriculture
CRS reports are produced by the Library of Congress for members of the House and Senate.
Major Land Uses
Has acreage estimates of major uses by region and States for each census of agriculture year from 1945 through 1997.
State Fact Sheets
Information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, and farm financial indicators for each state.
National Agricultural Library Digital Repository
The repository was launched in April 2006 to provide access to the full text of publications digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships. The majority of the publications available were published by the USDA. Examples include the Agriculture Information Bulletin, the Agricultural Economic Report, and the Yearbook of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Publications are added on an ongoing basis--check the Spotlights section of the home page for information on new additions or connect to the RSS feed. A complete list of full-text publications is provided on the Tables of Contents page.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Alternative Enterprises & Agritourism
Alternative Crops (USDA)
Search USDA's PLANT Database by type (fiber, forage, fruit, etc.) or by state.
Alternative Enterprises and Agritourism (Natural Resources Conservation Service)
National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, and Wildlife (Census Bureau)
Understanding Changing Social and Natural Systems (USDA Forest Service)
Site has links to the National Survey on Recreation and the Environment, recreation and tourism statistics, wilderness research, and other topics
Conservation
Conservation Programs (USDA Farm Service Agency)
Includes reports and statistics on participation in the programs.
National Conservation Practice Standards (U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Service)
Follow the links to eFOTG, the Electronic Field Office Technical Guide for state standards.
NRCS Conservation Programs (U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Service)
Crops
Adoption of Genetically Engineered Crops in the U.S.
Corn, cotton, and soybeans by state, 2000-2012.
Disaster Assistance Programs (USDA Farm Service Agency)
"USDA's Farm Service Agency's (FSA) Disaster Assistance Programs (NAP) provide financial assistance to producers of noninsurable crops when low yields, loss of inventory, or prevented planting occurs due to natural disasters."
Farm Risk Management (USDA Economic Research Service)
Includes information on yield and revenue insurance, futures and options, contracting sales and purchases, enterprise diversification, debt-level management, credit availability, and off-farm employment.
Feed Grains Database (USDA Economic Research Service)
This database contains statistics on the four feed grains (corn, grain sorghum, barley and oats), foreign coarse grains (feed grains plus rye, millet, and mixed grains), hay, and related items.
Databases & Search Engines
AgEcon Search: Agricultural and Applied Economics Resources on the Internet
Part of the AgNIC network, this site has links to reference sources, statistical data, full-text publications, specialized subjects, and professional sites.
AgNIC, the Agricultural Network Information Center
Cooperative network of libraries and land grant universities can be searched by topic or browsed (click on "partner site subjects") by agricultural topics.
AGRIS
AGRIS was created in 1974 by the UN Food and Agricultural Organization to provide international information on all aspects of agriculture. The database has nearly 3 million records.
Current Research Information System (USDA)
Current Research Information System (CRIS) covers current and ongoing research projects of USDA, state agricultural experiment stations, land grant universities, and other USDA administered grants in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.
E-Answers (American Distance Education Consortium)
Search and retrieve full text of over 250,000 pages of Extension Service and Agricultural Experiment Station at over 50 land grant universities.
Economic Research Service (USDA) Data
The Economic Research Service is the main source of economic information and research for USDA. The data page has an A to Z index.
Farm Labor
Farm and Farm-Related Employment (USDA Economic Research Service)
Estimates from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the Census Bureau for the U.S., states, Farm Production Regions, and Farm Resource Regions, 1981-1997.
Farm Labor (USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service)
Regional, national, and some state data on worker numbers and wage rates from 1964 to present.
Farm Labor (USDA Economic Research Service)
Information on labor demographics, employment characteristics, farm safety, and labor laws.
National Agricultural Workers Survey (U.S. Department of Labor)
Survey covers the demographic and employment characteristics of the U.S. crop labor force.
Summary of Federal Laws Affecting Agricultural Employers (USDA Economic Research Service)
Farms and Ranches
Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (U.S. Department of Energy)
Farm Balance Sheet Data (USDA Economic Research Service)
Estimates for the U.S. and states from 1960-present.
Farm Income Data (USDA Economic Research Service)
Estimates of farm sector income with component accounts for the U.S. (1910-2004) and states (1910-2002).
USDA Farm Service Agency
Program areas include disaster assistance, farm loans, conservation, price supports, commodities, and environmental conservation.
Food & Nutrition
Data & Statistics (USDA Food and Nutrition Service)
Covers Food Stamp Program, food distribution programs, school meals, and Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Program.
Diet Quality and Food Consumption (USDA Economic Research Service)
Famine Early Warning System Network (U.S. Agency for International Development)
FEWS NET provides warnings, reports, briefings, and maps and imagery on food insecurity in Africa.
FARAD: Food Animal Residue Avoidance Databank (USDA Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service)
Practical information on avoiding drug, pesticide, and environmental contaminant residue problems in food animals.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
Portal site provides information, government reports, and research papers for consumers and nutrition and health professionals.
Food Labeling and Nutrition (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
Includes labeling requirements for foods under the Federal Food Drug and Cosmetic Act and its amendments.
Food Market Indicators (USDA Economic Research Service)
Statistics describing economic activity related to food production and distribution from the farm to the consumer (domestic or international).
FoodSafety.gov
Food Security in the United States (USDA Economic Research Service)
Links to survey data on food security/insecurity in the U.S.
Nutrition.gov (USDA National Agricultural Library)
Information about the composition of foods from USDA's Nutrient Data Laboratory (see "What's in Food"), nutrition, diet, shopping, meal planning, dietary supplements, and food assistance programs.
Traceability in the U.S. Food Supply (USDA Economic Research Service)
Report and other information on tracking food from production through distribution.
Grazing & Rangelands
Wyoming Grazing Information (U.S. Bureau of Land Management)
Site has standards, guidelines and leasing fees.
Grazing Lands (U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Service)
Includes a statistical profile of farms in the U.S. with livestock and maps depicting pasture and grazing lands (Click on Technical Resources).
Pasture, Rangeland, and Grazing Operations (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
Information about environmental issues related to livestock production in pastures, rangeland, and other grazing operations.
Rangelands West
Rangelands West is provides information on issues related to rangelands and the full text of past issues of the Journal of Range Management.
Law & Regulation
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 7, Agriculture
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 43, Public Lands: Interior, Part 4100--Grazing Administration
Open Subchapter Dof Part 9.
Farm Bill 2008
Federal Register, 1994-present
National Agricultural Law Center (University of Arkansas School of Law)
Website has a listing of agricultural and food law topics with articles and publications that link to major statutes, regulations, case law, government publications, and other research resources.
National Agriculture Compliance Assistance Center (EPA)
Provides information about environmental requirements affecting agriculture.
U.S. Code, Title 7, Agriculture
U.S. House Committee on Agriculture
U.S. Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee
Livestock
Calculators (Oklahoma State University/Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service)
Software programs to assist decisions about beef cow nutrition.
Center for Veterinary Medicine (FDA)
Confined Animal and Manure Nutrient Data System
State and national data about numbers of animals from the 1982-1997 Censuses of Agriculture.
Interstate Livestock Movements
"One-time collection of annual shipment data compiled from USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) and State animal health departments. The data include total numbers of cattle, hogs, and sheep shipped into States (10 years of annual data from NASS), as well as an annual approximation of state-to-state and regional livestock flows (2001 or most recent available, from State animal health departments)."
National Animal Health Monitoring System
Retail Scanner Prices for Meat.
Includes monthly average retail price data for selected cuts of red meat and poultry, from electronic supermarket scanner data. Covers about 20% of U.S. supermarket sales.
Marketing
Food Marketing System in the U.S. (USDA Economic Research Service)
Information on the complex network of farmers and industries that make up the U.S. food system. Includes the industrial organization of food marketing, food and beverage manufacturing, and food wholesaling, retailing, and service.
Livestock and Grain Market News (USDA)
Daily, weekly, monthly, and annual reports on agricultural commodities.
Livestock Marketing Information Center (USDA)
"economic analysis and projections about issues and conditions concerning the livestock industry."
Marketing and Trade (U.S. National Agricultural Library)
Site has links to data, statistics, marketing research and assistance, trade, and other topics.
Organic & Sustainable Agriculture
Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
"AFSIC specializes in locating and accessing information related to alternative cropping systems including sustainable, organic, low-input, biodynamic, and regenerative agriculture. AFSIC also focuses on alternative crops, new uses for traditional crops, and crops grown for industrial production."
National Organic Program (USDA Agricultural Marketing Service)
Organic Farming (National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service)
USDA funded site provides information to farmers, ranchers, extension agents, and others interested in sustainable agriculture.
Organic Agriculture (USDA Economic Research Service)
Organic Production (USDA Economic Research Service)
Statistics on organic production of crops and livestock from 1992 to 2008.
Sustainable Agriculture (U.S. Library of Congress)
Library guide to resources in sustainable agriculture. The subject headings are linked to the Library of Congress, but you can use the same headings to search the UW Libraries catalog.
Pest Management
FDA Glossary of Pesticide Chemicals (U.S. Food and Drug Administration)
Glossary of alternative names for pesticides and related chemicals.
Pest Management (USDA National Agricultural Library)
Pesticide Product Information System (EPA)
The Pesticide Product Information System (PPIS) contains information concerning all pesticide products registered in the United States
Pesticides (EPA National Agricultural Compliance Assistance Center)
Plants Poisonous to Livestock (Cornell University)
State Pesticide Regulatory Agencies
Western Integrated Pest Management Center
USDA funded regional center is part of a national pest management information network.
Soils
List of Soil Surveys by State (U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Service)
NRCS Soils (U.S. National Resources Conservation Service)
Includes the Soil Survey Manual, links to online soil surveys, and a list of published soil surveys.
Soil Classification
Soil Taxonomy, A Basic System of Soil Classification for Making and Interpreting Soil Surveys. (U.S. Natural Resources Conservation Service)
Online edition of textbook.
Statistics
Agricultural Outlook: Statistical Indicators
Tables with data on individual commodities, the economy, agricultural trade, farm income, expenses and prices, food prices and expenditures, and other statistical indicators
Agricultural Productivity in the United States
Covers estimates of agricultural productivity for the U.S. 1948-2008 and for individual states from 1960-2004.
Agricultural Statistics
Annual publication covers agricultural production, consumption, supplies, facilities, costs and returns.
Census of Agriculture
State, county or zip code level data on the U.S. agricultural sector for 1992, 1997, 2002, and 2007.
FAOSTAT
International statistics on agricultural production, trade and prices, land use and irrigation, forest products, fishery products, food aid, and other areas.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA)
Publishes U.S. and state level agricultural statistics for commodities.
USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System
Contains nearly 2,500 reports and other data from USDA on U.S. and international agriculture.
Trade
Foreign Agricultural Trade of the United States (USDA Economic Research Service)
Global Agricultural Trade System-GATS (USDA Economic Research Service)
International Baseline Data
Supply, demand, and trade for major agricultural crops for selected countries.
International Macroeconomic Data Set
Data from 1971 through 2013 for real (adjusted for inflation) gross domestic product (GDP), population, real exchange rates, and other variables for the countries and regions that are most important for U.S. agricultural trade.
Outlook for U.S. Agricultural Trade (USDA Economic Research Service)
Water & Irrigation
Farm & Ranch Irrigation Survey, Census of Agriculture (USDA)
Irrigation and Water Use (USDA Economic Research Service)
Scroll down and click on "Western Irrigated Agriculture" for historical data on Wyoming and 16 other western states.
"This report relies on findings from several national surveys and current literature to assess water resource use and conservation measures within the U.S. irrigated crop sector."
Water Operations (U.S. Bureau of Reclamation)
Water Quality Information Center (National Agricultural Library)
Links to information about water and agriculture.
Water Use in the United States (U.S. Geological Survey)
Includes irrigation, livestock use, and aquifer withdrawals
Weather
Crop Weather (USDA Risk Management Agency)
Website has links to current weather conditions, the Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin, drought, irrigation, and tropical weather.
Drought Monitoring (National Weather Service Climate Prediction Center)
National Water and Climate Center (Natural Resources Conservation Service)
Maps for the western United States using SNOTEL, snow course, and ACIS data.
Weather and Climate (USDA)
Site monitors world agricultural weather data.
Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin (USDA)
Wyoming
Wyoming Cooperative Extension Service Publications
Wyoming Department of Agriculture
Wyoming Field Office (USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service)
Statistics on crops, livestock, farm income, land values, grazing fees, and other aspects of Wyoming agriculture.
Wyoming Livestock Board
Information and regulations concerning livestock brand recording and inspection, animal diseases, imports, and other issues concerning the Wyoming livestock industry.
Wyoming State Climate Office
Includes links to the Wyoming Climate Atlas, Wyoming Drought Website, and 1971-2000 Climate Normals for Wyoming.