LibGuides: Disability Studies & Accessibility: Disability Studies Journals

Related Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical indexing/full-text database that provides public access to MEDLINE (see separately) and full-text on PubMed Central and other publisher websites. On the NCBI platform.
Psycinfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Major psychology indexing database that covers journals, books, and dissertations back to the 1800s. On the EBSCOhost platform.
ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.

Disability Studies Databases

Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
The Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A database containing articles on gender studies, family and marital issues, and health aspects.

Disability Studies Journals

Canadian Journal of Disability Studies
The Canadian Journal of Disability Studies publishes peer-reviewed original articles that advance research in the multidisciplinary, international field of disability studies.
Disability & Health
Disability and Health Journal is a scientific, scholarly, and multidisciplinary journal for reporting original contributions that advance knowledge in disability and health. Topics may be related to global health, quality of life, and specific health conditions as they relate to disability.
Disability Studies Quarterly
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
International Journal of Disability and Social Justice
The Journal always aims to critique, re-imagine and develop new approaches to social justice for disabled people.
Journal of Disability Studies in Education
The Journal of Disability Studies in Education (JDSE) seeks to examine the architectures, cultures, discourses and practices of education across all sectors.
Review of Disability Studies
The Review of Disability Studies (RDS) is an anonymous peer-reviewed, open-access academic journal that is targeted towards any person interested in disability studies.
Sexuality and Disability
Sexuality and Disability is an international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed original interdisciplinary scholarly papers that address the psychological and medical aspects of sexuality in relation to rehabilitation.

Other Related Journals

Journal of intellectual & developmental disability
Journal of Intellectual and Developmental Disability is the official journal of the Australasian Society for Intellectual Disability (ASID). JIDD is an international, multidisciplinary journal in the field of intellectual and developmental disability.
Learning Disability Quarterly
Magazine containing research on various aspects of learning disabilities.
The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory
This journal provides works on significant debates of current issues across a broad range of research in the humanities and social sciences.

Popular Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.