What is EndNote Basic?
EndNote Basic is an online citation management system that allows you to create a personal library of references to books, articles and documents. It is accessible via the Internet from any device. References can include citation information (author, title, publisher, etc.) as well as file attachments. Reference information can be shared with other EndNote users; however, file attachments will not transfer due to licensing restrictions. EndNote Basic works with Microsoft Word and other word processors to automatically add citations to your paper and format your bibliography in the proper style (MLA, APA, Chicago Style, etc.).
How do I access EndNote Basic?
Access to EndNote Basic is free.
To set up an account with EndNote Basic, go to this link. Sign up using your University of Wyoming email address. As an affiliate of UW, you have expanded EndNote features that integrate with UW library resources. When you download citations from UW Libraries articles databases, the Find@UW button is added to the record in EndNote Basic.
Navigate to the Web of Science article database on the UW Libraries website. Click the EndNote tab in the top menu of the Web of Science to access the EndNote Basic log on screen. Log on with your UW email address (or register for an account if you have not already done so). EndNote will then recognize your account as being authenticated with UW for a year. Log back in through the library Web of Science database at least once per year to re-establish your UW authentication.
How do I use EndNote Basic?
- Download citations directly from many library article databases. Methods for saving records vary depending upon the database used.
- View your library of citations in the "My References" tab, and organize them into groups.
- Use the "Collect" tab for online search from within EndNote Basic, to manually add records, or to import citations from files.
- Use the "Organize" tab to share folders with collaborators, manage attachments, and find duplicate records.
- Use the "Format" tab to generate bibliographies and export references.
- Use the "Match" tab to obtain suggestions for possible journal titles for manuscript submission based upon keyword matching to your manuscript title, abstract, and references group. Match works best for science subjects as it looks for similar types of published articles indexed in the Web of Science article database.
- Use the "Options" tab to manage your account profile, email address, and password.
- Use the "Download" tab to get the Cite While You Write plug-in for Microsoft Word and install the Capture Reference browser add-in. (Note: Cite While You Write does not work with Word Online in Office 365; Use a desktop version of Word.)