Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Instructional Design Librarian
Subjects: American Studies
, Communication Disorders
, Counselor Education
, Disability Studies
, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility
, Early Childhood Education
, Government Information
, Instructional Technology
, International Studies
, Native American and Indigenous Studies
, Political Science
, Religious Studies
, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL)
, Social Sciences
Disability Research Guides
Intro to Guide
This guide details books and e-resources (journals and databases) related to the interdisciplinary field of disability studies. Additionally, this guide details the different services and resources Coe library offers for accessibility.
U.S. Census Disability Data
This link provides access to the U.S. Census with data focusing on persons with disability.
CDC Disability Data
A link to the CDC's data section, specifically focusing on person's with disability.
Department of Labor Office of Disability Employment Policy
ODEP promotes the availability and use of disability data and statistics to further education, research, and policy initiatives to improve employment opportunities and outcomes for people with disabilities.
NIH National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH): Mental Health Statistics
Understanding the scope of mental illnesses and their treatment is central to the mission of the NIMH. The information on these statistics pages includes the best statistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Getting Full Text
When you search any of the library's databases or use the QuickSearch box you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:
- Click the "Find It@UW" button . If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear.
- If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button
UW Libraries catalog: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. http://uwcatalog.uwyo.edu/
Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.
Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector. http://prospector.coalliance.org/