LibGuides: Political Science: Getting Started

Ask a Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

307-766-6830

Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Engineering: Architectural, Civil, Environmental, Engineering: Chemical & Energy, Engineering: Electrical & Computer, Engineering: Mechanical , Geography, Geology & Geophysics, International Studies, Mathematics & Statistics, Nuclear Engineering, Physics & Astronomy, Political Science

Welcome

Welcome to the Political Science Research Guide! This is a great starting place if you are writing a research paper on political science topics. You can find resources about primary sources, books, data, government information, and more. Remember you can always set up an appointment with a librarian for help!

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is a great way to get an introduction summary of topics related to politics. You can find a great summary along with a section on both sides of the argument. This is a good first stop when considering a topic for your research.

CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Current events full-text magazine that provides overview articles on "hot topics" back to 1991. On the CQPress platform.

Library Catalogs

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Popular Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.

Instruction Evaluation form

Please take a moment to evaluate the library session you attended:

Fill out the evaluation form here

Thanks!