LibGuides: ENGL 1010: College Composition &amp; Rhetoric: Find Background Information

Background Information for Topic Selection & Research

Encyclopedias and dictionaries available through the UW Libraries are excellent sources of background information to use when deciding on a research project. There is no lack of material for background research. If you have trouble finding something, just ask a librarian for help!

Please note that many databases will prompt you to enter your uwyo.edu username and password for access.

Off-Campus Access

While off-campus, you may experience some issues accessing UW Libraries' resources. Here are some tips:

Look for a login prompt, such as entering your UW login information
- Do this before setting up an account with the provider
In some cases, you may find the option to login through your institution, which is another way you can access the resources
You can also take note of the resource and search for it on the main library website under the databases icon near the middle of the page
If all else fails, please contact the library at coeref@uwyo.edu

Best Bets- Background Resource Databases

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Best bet for finding background information on topics like current events, agriculture, petroleum, and historical information. Covers a lot of topics!
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Best bet for finding context and an overview for current events. It's a great springboard for finding sources and foundational knowledge. It won't have all topics, but will have many like social media, politics, and social movements.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Can help you find counterclaims for your topic because it will share information across different perspectives. There are many topics covered- from entertainment, to politics, to science and the environment.

Still stuck? Use these

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of reference books licensed by University of Wyoming Libraries. On the Gale platform.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database including articles from journals, reference sources, and the New York Times. On a Gale platform.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary reference database that combines sources in archaeology, art, bilingual dictionaries, classical studies, English, history, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine, music, performing arts, philosophy, quotations, religion, science and technology and social sciences. On the Oxford platform. Simultaneous user limit of 5.
SpringerReference This link opens in a new window
Searchable database which contains reference works on topics in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. On a Springer platform.