Wyoming State Science Fair: Search GoWYLD Databases

The databases we focus on here are on gowyld.net--on the Wyoming State Libraries website. These databases you can access from home.

 When you search any of the GoWYLD databases from home you will need to have a valid WYLD log in to access the databases and articles you need. Check with your public or school library if you do not know the log in.

Don't forget these tips:

• Use source types and document types to help narrow your searches in the databases.
• Think about what terms are associated with your topic--use these variations when searching! Use keyword terms and avoid asking questions in the search boxes.

Some recommended databases you may find under the GoWYLD Subject Area of Science and Technology are:

Agricola:  A comprehensive source of information in agriculture and life sciences.

Brittanica Library: An up-to-date information resource for Children, Young Adults, and Adults. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, e-books, and other learning resources that support student research.

GreenFILE: Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment with a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

National Geographic Virtual Library: The complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue from 1888 to the present - along with a searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.

ProQuest Science & Technology: This collection includes influential journals and academic publications with full text across the breadth of science and technology, from impactful cross-disciplinary titles to subject specific articles.

Science (Gale in Context): An engaging online experience for those seeking information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating reference, news, and magazine articles as well as a wide variety of multimedia content such as videos and images.

Too few results?

• Use fewer search terms, or swap out for synonyms.
• Borrow the subject terms coming up in the sidebar.
• Truncate keywords to get all variations of the word (e.g. "censor*" searches for censor, censored, censorship, and censors). 

Too many results?

• Be more precise (e.g. basketball instead of sports).
• Add an additional keyword.
• Enclose exact phrases in double quotation marks (e.g., "world health organization").
• Refine your search using the facets like publication type, date range, or subject headings.