College of Health Science Librarian
Nursing Guides
Library Guides
-
Videos & Tutorials from the UW Libraries
by Susan Schulz Last Updated Apr 18, 2025 140 views this year
Nursing database links
- CINAHL Complete [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature] This link opens in a new window
Major nursing indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles back to 1981. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical indexing/full-text database that provides public access to MEDLINE (see separately) and full-text on PubMed Central and other publisher websites. On the NCBI platform.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Medical indexing/full-text database that provide systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodology register, reviews of effects, health technology assessment and economic evaluations. On a Wiley platform.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowHealth and Medicine integrates millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia. Health Reference Center Academic features: 24/7 access to peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, nursing and allied health and other health-related areas with backfiles from 1980; videos of medical procedures and live surgeries from OR-Live; international news coverage from Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service, NewsRx and Ascribe.
Related fields databases
- ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary to help users find what they need.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Major psychology indexing database that covers journals, books, and dissertations back to the 1800s. On the ProQuest platform.
- Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowPhysical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection includes hundreds of thousands of articles updated daily from nearly 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Users will discover proven treatment techniques, examine experimental research theses, find unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting) and more.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowMajor social work indexing database that covers journal articles back to 1965. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major sociology indexing database that covers journals, books, theses and conference papers back to 1952. On the ProQuest platform.
Nursing video databases
- Nursing Assessment in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of videos providing demonstrations and step-by-step instructions for performing physical assessments of patients. On the Alexander Street platform.
- Nursing Assistant Education in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of videos based on Medcom-Trainex's training program on the fundamentals of nursing assistance. On the Alexander Street platform.
- Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of videos focused on the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. On the Alexander Street platform.
- Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new windowHealth and Society in Video defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
- Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new windowSports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video covers the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world’s leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.