LibGuides: History : Secondary Source Databases

Introduction

Welcome to the secondary sources databases page. This page highlights some specific databases that you can utilize to find journal articles or other secondary sources related to historical topics. One great resource to find these types of resources is QuickSearch on the library homepage as well! This does a great broad search of a lot of different databases

Secondary sources put primary sources in context. They summarize, interpret, analyze, or comment on information found in primary sources. Secondary sources are usually written by individuals who did not experience firsthand the events about which they are writing.

Common Examples of SECONDARY Sources:

Biographies, monographs, journal articles, dissertations, theses, essays and encyclopedia articles.

Popular Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.

Secondary Source Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
History indexing database that covers American and Canadian journal articles back to 1910. On the EBSCOhost platform. Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Arts and humanities indexing database covering journal articles and citation information back to 1975. Part of Web of Science on the Web of Knowledge platform.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, covering art, design, crafts, and photography; archaeology, anthropology, and classical studies; architecture, interior design, and urban planning; history, philosophy, geography, and religion; modern languages and literatures; and music, theatre, film, and cultural studies.

Documentaries

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
History streaming media database that includes primary sources (newsreels and archival footage and educational videos from PBS, History Channel and other sources. On the Alexander Street Press platform.
BBC Video Collection This link opens in a new window
BBC Video Collection provides streaming access to 700 BBC films. Viewers can explore relevant, timely documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more.
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
The C-SPAN Video Library is one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content, with over 230,000 hours of programming.