LibGuides: ENGL 2015: College Composition &amp; Rhetoric II: Finding Disciplinary Resources

Subject- Specific Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical indexing/full-text database that provides public access to MEDLINE (see separately) and full-text on PubMed Central and other publisher websites. On the NCBI platform.
CINAHL Complete [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature] This link opens in a new window
Major nursing indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles back to 1981. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
With journals, news, trade publications, reports, dissertations and more, ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. ProQuest Public Health specializes on delivering focused and relevant results for the public health field, covering key subjects including: nutrition and dietetics; physical fitness and hygiene; population studies; social services and welfare; statistics; biology - genetics; drug abuse and alcoholism; special education and rehabilitation; environmental studies; industrial health and safety; communicable diseases; allergology and immunology; nurses and nursing; and pediatrics.

Looking for something else? Try these databases related to health.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environmental indexing/full-text database that selectively covers journals, magazines and government documents. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive that covers the ACM and other publishers' journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters and theses. On an ACM platform.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Major geology indexing database that covers maps, journals, books, conference papers, reports and theses. It covers North American geology back to 1669 and world geology back to 1933. On the ProQuest platform.

Looking for something else? Try these databases related to STEM.

Psycinfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Major psychology indexing database that covers journals, books, and dissertations back to the 1800s. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political science indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles back to 1985. On the ProQuest platform.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major sociology indexing database that covers journals, books, theses and conference papers back to 1952. On the ProQuest platform.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Law indexing/full-text database that covers journals, session laws, congressional documents and other legal documents. On the HeinOnline platform.

Looking for something else? Try these databases related to the social sciences.

ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. In addition, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary to help users find what they need.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Database that indexes education literature back to 1929, with full text back to 1996. Adds unique content to merger of Wilson Education Full Text & Retrospective and EBSCO Education Research Complete. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
The database includes over 600 titles covering careers & vocations; trade & industry; technical resources; and job searching. Technical topics covered include: computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales & retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

Looking for something else? Try these databases related to education.

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. On the InfoTrac platform.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Major business indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles and other business sources back to 1965. On the EBSCOhost platform.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Major economics indexing/full-text database that covers journals, books, book reviews and theses back to 1969. On the ProQuest platform.

Looking for something else? Try these databases related to business.

JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major English and modern language indexing database that covers of journals, books and theses back to 1926.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Music bibliographical database featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. On the EBSCOhost platform.

Looking for something else? Try these databases related to English and Litarature.

Finding Journals

BrowZine is a great tool for finding academic journals in your discipline. You can filter them by journal rank to see the most popular and highly cited journals in your academic discipline

BrowZine

Finding General Disciplinary Sources

Professional Association Finders

You can use these resources to find professional associations in your area of academic interest
Many of these professional associations will publish their own magazines or journals written for a more general audience

MasterFile Complete contains disciplinary magazines that are written for a general audience.

We recommend looking through the Publication List first- this will help you find publications in your academic discipline and you can then search within the publication to see specific articles

MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers journals, magazines and references sources of interest to public library patrons. On the EBSCOhost platform.

ENGL 2015: College Composition & Rhetoric II: Finding Disciplinary Resources

Finding Disciplinary Resources

Below are resources to help you find: