LibGuides: Film Studies: Articles

Selected Film Journals

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database including articles from journals, reference sources, and the New York Times. On a Gale platform.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
American Film Institute Catalog This link opens in a new window
Film reference database that covers American cinema 1893 to 2011, including AFI's annual Top Films. On the ProQuest platform.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Film indexing/full-text database that covers journal and magazine articles from their beginnings to present. On the ProQuest platform.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Major film and television indexing database that covers journals. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary ejournal and ebook platform that provides full-text of library-licensed journals and ebooks. On its own platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.

Don't overlook these general databases. They each have good coverage of articles on film in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.