Rambles in Wonderland, Edwin J. Stanley, 1898 – A narrative account of a trip to Yellowstone from the late 19th century by Edwin J. Stanley, a Methodist Episcopal minister. Stanley describes the journey and people he has met along the way as well as extensively describing the natural terrain and features of Yellowstone. There are several illustrations depicting the natural features. The last part of the book is a section devoted to instructions for tourists. This book contains descriptions and depictions of Native Americans and their culture that are considered offensive today. (Toppan Rare Books Library: Colket Collection: F722 .S79 1898)
Grace Harlowe’s Overland Riders in the Yellowstone National Park, Jessie Graham Flower, 1923 – One book of the long running Grace Harlowe series aimed at children. Grace Harlowe and her friends encounter a mystery they set about solving in the dramatic setting of Yellowstone National Park. (Toppan Rare Books Library: Jackson Collection: PS3511.L824 G74 1923)
Trees and Flowers of Yellowstone National Park, Frank E. A. Thone, 1923 – A guide to 100 species of trees and flowers within Yellowstone National Park, written in a non-technical style and intended for casual use for visitors to the park. The plants and flowers are depicted by hand drawings with occasional black and white photographs. (Toppan Rare Books Library: Colket Collection: QK195 .T5 1923)
Plants of Yellowstone National Park, W.B. McDougall and Herma A. Baggley, 1936 – A more technical guide to plants in Yellowstone National Park. This book includes a color photograph opposite the title page, numerous black and white photographs, and a “key” for helping the reader to identify a plant in the field. (Toppan Rare Books Library: Colket Collection: QK 195 .M255 1936)
The Ninety Day Wonder, H.T. Lystrup, 1938 – An account of Lystrup’s summer working as a park ranger at the Old Faithful geyser in Yellowstone National Park. The book is compiled from notes from the author’s diary. The author describes working in the park, daily living, and his general experiences of his “ninety days”. Included are photographs of the author as well as photographs from the summer. (Toppan Rare Books Library: Colket Collection: F 722 .L9 1938)
Colter’s Hell, Grace Johnson, 1938 – A historical fiction novel set in the early days of the exploration of what is now Yellowstone National Park. The novel emphasizes physical descriptions of the park environment and also includes occasional mythical elements. (Toppan Rare Books Library: Colket Collection: PS 3519 .O256 C6 1938)
Yellowstone – it’s Underworld, Clyde Bauer, 1948 – A short book on the geology of Yellowstone National Park aimed at a general audience. Included are geologic diagrams and maps, as well as photographs depicting geologic features that are discussed in the text. (Toppan Rare Books Library: Colket Collection: F 722 .B38 1948)
LibGuide written by Emma Comstock and Marcus Holscher