William Rush Taggart Papers, 1872-1873
Acc. #712
William Rush Taggart (1849-1922) served as the assistant geologist from 1872-1873 with the Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories, commonly known as the Hayden Survey, which was led by Ferdinand Vandeveer Hayden. After the survey, Taggart joined the law firm of Dillon and Swain in New York City and became associated with Western Union Telegraph Company serving as its vice-president until his death in 1922.
Collection contains Taggart's diaries (1873) and letters (1872-1873) written during his trip with the Hayden Survey, in which he provides geological descriptions of areas that would become Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks and Jackson Hole, Wyoming. There are also transcripts of the diaries and letters.
Taylor Family Photographs, 1916-1919
Acc. #9787
The Taylor family and Sheffield family lived in Wyoming's Grand Teton National Park during the twentieth century.
Collection contains 59 photographic reproductions of members of the Taylor and Sheffield families, Grand Teton National Park, and Yellowstone National Park, taken by unidentified photographers between 1916 and 1919.
E. Tom Thorne Papers, 1921-2005
Acc. #11466
E. Tom Thorne was a veterinarian. He graduated from Oklahoma State University with a Bachelor of Science in Zoology in 1963 and a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine in 1967. He worked for the Wyoming Game and Fish Department in several capacities from 1967 to 2005. He was also Wyoming's State Veterinarian. Dr. Thorne was a member of many work related organizations. They included the Black-footed Ferret Species Survival Plan Management Group, the Wyoming Toad Recovery Group, the Albany County Task Force on Wyoming Toads and Pesticides, the Chronic Wasting Disease Association, and the Greater Yellowstone Interagency Brucellosis Committee. He worked with zoos in the United States and Canada to establish a black-footed ferret captive breeding program.
The E. Tom Thorne papers contain files regarding endangered wildlife in Wyoming. There is extensive material on the diseases of Wyoming wildlife and their treatment, bison and elk brucellosis, the endangered toad, and the breeding of the black-footed ferret. There is correspondence with colleagues in national and state government agencies about endangered species in the United States and how to get funding from the Department of Agriculture for their research proposals. There is also correspondence with zoos in the United States and Canada about exchanging endangered species for captive breeding programs and eliminating disease in wildlife populations. There are also cassettes, slides and videotapes of diseased and endangered Wyoming wildlife (1921-2005).
Leonard F. Thornton Papers, 1922-1964
Acc. #3287
Leonard F. Thornton (1882-1966), was born in Loveland, Colorado, and came to Thermopolis, Wyoming, in 1912. He was appointed to the Wyoming Natural Resources Board in 1935 and also served on the Yellowstone River Compact Commission and the Upper Colorado River Commission.
Collection contains correspondence dealing with water and conservation projects in Wyoming, 1922-1964; and subject files with correspondence, maps and newspaper clippings on the Upper Colorado River Commission, the Yellowstone River Compact Commission and the Wyoming Natural Resources Board, 1924-1964.
H. W. Thurston Papers, 1903-1949
Acc. #7590
Thurston was a forest ranger in Yellowstone National Park from 1903 until the late 1910s. He was later a manager with Petroleum Service Co. in Cody, Wyoming.
Contains miscellaneous correspondence (1907, 1936-1949) regarding Yellowstone National Park and Petroleum Service Co.; miscellaneous photographs of Yellowstone National Park and Thurston (1903-1924); and hunting and fishing licenses (1908-1949).
Clara and Frederick Toppan Papers, 1890-2002
Acc. #6802
Frederick and Clara Toppan were married at the Episcopal Chapel of the Transfiguration in Grand Teton National Park on July 23, 1949. They lived on Toppan's family property, the Lodgepole Ranch, just outside of Grand Teton National Park. He served in World War II. He settled on the family property with his mother in 1941, and became very active in the nearby community of Jackson. He was instrumental in the construction of the first ski lift in Jackson at Snow King. He was an avid outdoorsman and was considered an expert hunter and fisherman. He also was an avid collector of hunting, fishing, outdoors, and natural history books and built an extensive library.
Mrs. Toppan was born Clara Anna Raab on November 9, 1910, in Cheyenne, Wyoming. In 1937 she became a certified public accountant for the federal government and was hired on as a clerk for the National Park Service at Grand Teton National Park. She became Wyoming's first female certified public accountant when she received her Wyoming State Board of Accountancy certification on June 1, 1945. She formed a private practice in Jackson that same year.
The Clara and Frederick Toppan Collection consists of photographs, newspaper clippings, biographical information, and scrapbooks and photo albums about Frederick and Clara Toppan including their hobbies and vacations. Also included is family history and genealogical information about the Toppan and Raab families.
University of Wyoming, Department of Zoology and Physiology Records, 1920-1951
Acc. #545006
The Dept. of Zoology and Physiology was the largest academic department at the University of Wyoming and has collaborated with the National Park Service; the Wyoming Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit and the Wyoming Game and Fish Department. The University's location near several mountain ranges and national parks provided a unique opportunity for zoological and physiological study. The department managed field stations in Jackson Hole and a research station at the AMK ranch in Grand Teton Park to foster research in the National Parks of the Rocky Mountain Region.
This collection consists of office records from the University of Wyoming Course Reorganization Committee regarding the switch from a quarter system to a semester system. In addition to the office records are lantern slides compiled by Dr. Scott, a former professor with the Dept. of Zoology and Physiology. These slides contain images from the Snowy Mountain Range near Laramie, Wyoming; Yellowstone National Park; Grant Teton National Park; Medicine Bow National Forest; Jackson Hole National Elk Refuge as well as slides of various animals and plants.
Cat Urbigkit Papers, 1907-2009
Acc. #11718
Cat Urbigkit was a writer, photographer, and rancher from Big Piney, Wyoming. Urbigkit spent more than a decade conducting research on the history of Wyoming's wolves for her non-fiction book, "Yellowstone Wolves: A Chronicle of the Animal, the People, the Politics," released in 2007. She and her husband were party to several Federal lawsuits dealing with Wyoming wolves, including the lawsuit challenging the wolf reintroduction program in Yellowstone National Park.
The Cat Urbigkit collection contains subject files (including wolves and Teton National Forest), legal documents, notebooks of clippings and printed material, books, VHS tapes, audio cassette tapes, slides, and a poster all dealing with wolf reintroduction in Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho.
Denise S. Vick Papers, 1918-1986
Acc. #11221
Denise S. Vick was an interpreter for the National Park Service at Yellowstone National Park.
The Denise S. Vick papers contain her personal files regarding information about the administration of the Yellowstone National Park Center for Resources interpreter staff, 1918-1986. There are memoranda, files on discussions between the staff and meetings to decide park policies and address how to handle problems in the park and interpretive series directives, internal reports and interpretive program proposals, interpreter objectives, guidelines, and manuals on park standards. There are also brochures, National Park Service interpreter newsletters, and annual reports of Yellowstone National Park.
Roy Waln Family Papers, 1880-1965
Acc. #11062
Art Waln, son of Roy Waln, had a photograph collection of the Waln family from Glendo, Wyoming, later of Wheatland, Wyoming. Roy Waln, who died in 1993, was an insurance agent. Everett Waln was sheriff of Wheatland.
The collection contains photograph albums and loose photographs of early Glendo, Wyoming, including dam building; a family trip to Yellowstone Park in 1933; Horseshoe Ranch; and family portraits that date back to the 1800s, following the genealogy of the Esther Watts branch of the family. Loose photographs include snapshots of locations in Wyoming and Colorado and ranch photographs. Some family papers, obituaries, and newspaper clippings are included. The bulk of the photographs date from 1890s to the early 1930s and are dated and identified for the most part.
Warner-Caldwell Oil Company Records, 1904-1977
Acc. #1701
The Warner-Caldwell Oil Company was incorporated in 1917 by William W. Warner (1888- ) and his brother, Alex N. Warner, in partnership with James H. Caldwell. Its headquarters were in Nowata, Oklahoma. The company operated stripper wells mostly in the Big Creek and Salt Creek oil fields of northeastern Oklahoma. The Warner-Caldwell Oil Company was dissolved in 1961.
Collection contains company correspondence (1924-1964); legal documents relating to leases of oil fields; well logs and production reports; stock certificate books and reports to stockholders; materials relating to the National Stripper Well Association (1936-1938) and the Oklahoma Stripper Well Association (1938-1940); and photographs of oil wells in Oklahoma. The collection also contains photographs of a trip to Yellowstone National Park and printed material and photographs concerning Titusville, Pennsylvania.
Elizabeth Watson Photograph Album, 1938
Acc. #11678
Elizabeth Watson participated in a University of Missouri geology summer camp near Lander, Wyoming, in 1938.
This collection contains an album of photographs titled "Camp Lander, Wyoming - Summer 1938, University of Missouri - Geology." The snapshots show people and activities at the camp, at Dallas Dome, and in Lander. Other photographs document a visit to Yellowstone National Park.
Edwin Earl Whedon Papers, 1921-1961
Acc. #5824
Edwin Earl Whedon (1872-1958) practiced medicine in Sheridan, Wyoming, and held interests in several oil companies.
Collection contains the records of Whedon's business interests, encompassing leases and production records for several petroleum companies, including Black Hills Drilling Company (1952-1954), Continental Oil Company (1951-1954), George and Wrather Oil Company (1953), Olds and Wrather Oil Company (1951-1958), Sheehan Oil Company (1953), Arthur L. Schlaikjer (1951-1961), Taylor Oil Company (1951-1954), Texas Oil Company (1951-1954), Trigood Oil Company (1950-1958), True and Brown Oil Company (1953-1954) and Yellowstone Drilling Company (1951-1956).
Clarice Whittenburg Papers, 1825-1971
Acc. #400066
Clarice T. Whittenburg was born in Missouri in 1899. She taught in Missouri public schools until 1930, when she moved to Laramie, Wyoming, where she taught at the University of Wyoming Laboratory School for 11 years. She was a professor of elementary education at the University of Wyoming until her retirement in 1964. Whittenburg also did a great deal of historical research (particularly on Wyoming and the West), and wrote a 4th grade textbook of Wyoming history titled "Wyoming's People". Whittenburg died in 1971.
Collection contains biographical information, correspondence, teaching materials, newspaper clippings and other research files related to Wyoming and the West, and manuscripts and research project files written and conducted by Clarice Whittenburg. Also contains photographs and negatives (mainly black and white) primarily of Wyoming sites and people, and the University of Wyoming's Prep School. Collection also contains color film of Wyoming and the University of Wyoming, as well as audiotapes of a 10 part radio broadcast called "Portrait of a Pioneer City" about Laramie, Wyoming.
Roy L. Williams Papers, 1936-1960
Acc. #9739
Roy L. Williams was a forester and conservationist. Born in South Dakota in 1896, Williams joined the U.S. Forest Service as a Ranger at Black Hills National Forest in South Dakota. A staunch conservationist who concerned himself with overgrazing and fire control in the national forests, Williams rose through the ranks of the U.S. Forest Service, eventually serving as U.S. Forest Supervisor at Wyoming's Bighorn National Forest during the 1940s and 1950s. He retired from the U.S. Forest Service as the Regional Fire Control Officer in Denver, Colorado. During the late 1950s, Williams worked for the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations as a fire control advisor to the Government of Venezuela. Roy L. Williams passed away in 1963.
Collection contains two photograph albums of Williams' pictures of Wyoming's Shoshone National Forest and Yellowstone National Park from 1936 to 1938. The collection also holds one folder of correspondence documenting his tenure as U.S. Forest Supervisor at Bighorn National Forest in Wyoming. A scrapbook documenting Williams' service in the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations in Venezuela is in the collection as well.
Wyoming Pioneers Oral History Project, 1947-1956
Acc. #300018
The collection contains interviews and transcripts with people who were early residents of Wyoming. Interviews were conducted between 1947 and 1956 by employees of the American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming. Topics include life in Laramie, Hanna, Douglas, and other towns; politics and government; ranching; Camp Fire Girls; crime; Yellowstone Park; Buffalo Bill's Wild West show; University of Wyoming; Tom Horn; a World War II war bride; mining; and the Johnson County War. Includes some interviews with Native Americans.
Yellowstone National Park Collection, 1900-1960
Acc. #10464
The collection contains glass slides, postcards, stereo cards, photographs, and guidebooks of Yellowstone National Park. Also included are souvenirs sold in the Park and a film titled “Old Faithful Speaks”.