Introduction
Are you studying an international studies topic focusing on the Middle East? This page provides different primary and secondary databases related to the Middle East & International Studies along with some suggested books.
And remember you can always reach out to your librarian for help!
Primary Source Databases
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 This link opens in a new window
Historic full-text archives that reproduces British files from 1947 to 1980. On the Archives Direct/Adam Matthew platform.
- Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 This link opens in a new windowForeign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power.
Newspapers
- Middle East Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspaper database that includes sources in English and French from the Muslim world back to 1988. On the ProQuest platform.
Secondary Source Databases
- Middle East & Africa Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Books
Iran's Foreign Policy after the Nuclear Agreement by
The book offers the first systematic account of Iran's foreign policy following the nuclear agreement (JCPOA) of July 14, 2015. The author evaluates in what ways the JCPOA, in conjunction with the dramatic changes taking shape in the international order, have affected Iran's foreign policy. Known as Normalizers, the moderate leadership under President Hassan Rouhani had planned to normalize Iran's foreign relations by curtailing terrorism and reintegrate Iran into the community of nations. Their hardline opponents, the Principalists, rejected the JCPOA as a tool of subjection to the West and insisted on exporting the Islamist revolution, a source of much destabilization and terror in the region and beyond. The project also analyzes the struggle between Normalizers and their hardline opponents with regards to global and regional issues and Iran's foreign policy towards global powers including the U.S., Russia, EU, and regional countries including Iraq, Syria, Israel, Saudi Arabia and Turkey.
ISBN: 3319767887Publication Date: 2018-06-04
Migration, Refugees and Human Security in the Mediterranean and MENA by
This book focuses on the Mediterranean/MENA migration crisis and explores the human security implications for migrants and refugees in this troubled region. Since the Arab uprisings of 2010/2011, the Middle East and North Africa region has experienced major political transformations and called into question the legitimacy of states in the region. Displaced populations continue to suffer due to the major conflicts in Syria, Iraq and elsewhere, causing fragmentation and dis-integration of communities. Contributors to this volume analyze how and why this crisis differs significantly from previous migration/refugee flows in the region, explain the historical and political antecedents of this crisis which have played a part in its shaping, and explore the relationship between human security and the protection of vulnerable individuals and groups.
ISBN: 3319707744Publication Date: 2018-03-27
Modern Subjectivities in World Society by
This book brings together theories of world society with poststructuralist and postcolonial work on modern subjectivity to understand the universalising and particularising processes of globalisation. It addresses a theoretical void in global studies by attending to the co-constituted process through which modern subjectivities and global processes emerge and interact. The editors outline a key problem in global studies, which is a lack of engagement between the local/particular/individual and the 'universalising' processes in which they are situated. The volume deals with this concern with contributions from historical sociologists, poststructuralist and postcolonial scholars and by focusing in the Middle East, religion in global modernity and non-human subjectivities.
ISBN: 3319907336Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Troubled Waters by
Troubled Waters looks at four dynamics in the Persian Gulf that have contributed to making the region one of the most volatile and tension-filled spots in the world. Mehran Kamrava identifies the four dynamics as: the neglect of human dimensions of security, the inherent instability involved in reliance on the United States and the exclusion of Iraq and Iran, the international and security policies pursued by inside and outside actors, and a suite of overlapping security dilemmas. These four factors combine and interact to generate long-term volatility and ongoing tensions within the Persian Gulf. Through insights from Kamrava's interviews with Gulf elites into policy decisions, the consequences of security dilemmas, the priorities of local players, and the neglect of identity and religion, Troubled Waters examines the root causes of conflicts and crises that are currently unfolding in the region. As Kamrava demonstrates, each state in the region, including Saudi Arabia, Iran, and Qatar, has embarked on vigorous security-producing efforts as part of foreign policy, flooding the area with more munitions--thereby increasing insecurity and causing more mistrust in a part of the world that needs no more tension.
ISBN: 9781501720352Publication Date: 2018-05-15
