Introduction
Are you studying an international studies topic focusing on Europe? This page provides different primary and secondary databases related to Europe & International Studies along with some suggested books.
And remember you can always reach out to your librarian for help!
Primary Source Databases
- United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of United Nations treaties. On the United Nations platform.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
This database includes the following collections: Europe and Africa Digital Archive, Photography Digital Archive, Science, Technology, and Medicine, Women Digital Archive, Corvey Collection of European Literature, British Theatre, Asia & West, Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society
Newspapers
- World Newspaper Archive - Eastern European Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes 19th and 20th-century newspapers from Eastern Europe.
- Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new windowFounded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press
- Daily Mail Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004, provides digital access to one of Britain’s most influential papers. With nearly 1.2 million pages of content from the paper, it includes all of the major news stories, features, advertisements and images. As well as the regular edition of the newspaper, the Daily Mail Historical Archive also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the transatlantic liners that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.
Secondary Source Databases
- Continental Europe Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
- East Europe, Central Europe Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes ongoing full-text academic journals published in East and Central Europe. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
- Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Online market research tool monitoring international industry trends, market size, and market share for a wide range of products.
- U.K. & Ireland Database This link opens in a new window
Over 360 Scholarly, current, full-text journals, with multidisciplinary coverage, all published in the region.
Books
Citizens' Activism and Solidarity Movements by
This book explores the activism and solidarity movements formed by contemporary European citizens in opposition to populism, which has risen significantly in reaction to globalization, European integration and migration. It makes the counterforces to neo-nationalisms visible and re-envisions key concepts such as democracy/public sphere, power/empowerment, intersectionality and conflict/cooperation in civil society. The book makes a theoretical and empirical contribution to citizenship studies, covering several forms such as contestatory, solidary, everyday and creative citizenship. The chapters examine the diverse movements against national populism, othering and exclusion in various parts of the European Union, such as Denmark, Finland, the UK, Austria, Germany, France, Bulgaria, Slovenia and Italy. The national case studies focus on counterforces to ethnic and religious divisions, as well as genders and sexualities, various expressions of anti-migration, Romanophobia, Islamophobia and homophobia. The book's overall focus on local, national and transnational forms of resistance is premised on values of respect and tolerance of diversity in an increasingly multi-cultural Europe.
ISBN: 9783319761824Publication Date: 2018-07-18
Insecurity and the Rise of Nationalism in Putin's Russia by
This book offers an analysis of Putin's approval ratings from the fall of the USSR to the present day. It considers contemporary materials, statistics and a discourse analysis to assess how Putin's approval ratings have stayed so high despite the current economic turndown. Through a comparative analysis with Yeltsin's time in office, the author demonstrates that higher levels of security, a better standard of living, increasingly assertive foreign policy and greater centralization of power led to positive approval ratings for Putin--absent characteristics during Yeltsin's terms--and fostered 'positive national self-esteem' in Russia, a national sentiment that has persisted through current economic difficulties. Recommended reading for academics and students of Russian studies in the field of International Relations, Foreign Policy and Comparative Politics.
ISBN: 3319978217Publication Date: 2018-09-14
The Presidentialisation of Political Parties in the Western Balkans by
This book examines the process of presidentialisation of political parties in the Western Balkans. The Western Balkan countries deserve to be analysed in a comparative perspective due to their distinctive features in terms of processes of democratization, forms of government and institutional assets, the presence of social cleavages (religious, linguistic, ethnic), and, of course, the nature of political parties which differs from other European cases, especially in terms of origins, organization and structure. However, Western Balkan political parties do show certain similarities with other West European cases where power is centralised and held by the parties' leadership. The book ultimately attempts to test whether and to what extent the influence of institutional variables affects the level of presidentialisation of political parties, also considering the parties' organization features.
ISBN: 3319973517Publication Date: 2018-09-10
The Securitization of the Roma in Europe by
This book discusses how Europe's Roma minorities have often been perceived as a threat to majority cultures and societies. Frequently, the Roma have become the target of nationalism, extremism, and racism. At the same time, they have been approached in terms of human rights and become the focus of programs dedicated to inclusion, anti-discrimination, and combatting poverty. This book reflects on this situation from the viewpoint of how the Roma are often 'securitized,' understood and perceived as 'security problems.' The authors discuss practices of securitization and the ways in which they have been challenged, and they offer an original contribution to debates about security and human rights interventions at a time in which multiple crises both in and of Europe are going hand-in-hand with intensified xenophobia and security rhetoric.
ISBN: 3319770349Publication Date: 2018-06-06
Trust in the European Union in Challenging Times by
This is the first book in the Interdisciplinary European Studies collection. This volume provides an interdisciplinary perspective on trust in the EU from the vantage point of political science, law and economics. It applies insights from a number of different dimensions - political institutions, legal convergence in criminal and civil law, social trust, digitalization, the diffusion of political values and norms, monetary convergence and the legitimacy of political systems - to approach the highly complex issue of trust in the EU in a clear-sighted, relevant and insightful manner. Written by renowned experts in the field, the style is accessible and reader-friendly, yet concise, knowledgeable and thought-provoking. The individual chapters combine up-to-date research findings with reflections on on-going political debates and offer useful, concrete ideas on what steps the EU could take to address the challenge of trust. The book provides the reader with invaluable insights into how trust, or rather the lack of trust, poses a challenge to the future of the social, economic and political developments in the EU. It is a must-read for policy-makers, students and interested members of the public who feel concerned by the future of Europe.
ISBN: 3319738569Publication Date: 2018-06-26
