LibGuides: Zoology: Getting Started

Online Reference Works

Use reference books to quickly gain an understanding of your research topic, learn the terminology, and find relevant search terms for your research.

A Dictionary of Zoology by Michael Allaby This dictionary contains over 5,250 entries on all aspects of zoology. It includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behavior, evolution, earth history, zoo-geography, genetics, and physiology and it provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.
Call Number: QL9 .C66 2009
ISBN: 9780199233410
Publication Date: 2010-03-19
Encyclopedia of Entomology by John L. Capinera (Editor) This Encyclopedia is a reliable first source of reference for students and working professionals. Coverage includes insect classification, behavior, ecology, genetics and evolution, physiology, and management, and references to relevant literature.
ISBN: 9781402063596
Publication Date: 2008-08-28
Encyclopedia of Mammals by Edwin Gould (Editor); George McKay (Editor); David Kirshner (Illustrator) This encyclopedia covers the behavior, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language.
Call Number: QL701.2 .E53 1998
ISBN: 0122936701
Publication Date: 1998-07-22

Dictionary of Animal Behaviour
This dictionary covers every aspect of animal behaviour and includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.