LibGuides: Genealogy & Family Research: Getting Started

General Information for Researchers

While the University of Wyoming Libraries does not have an extensive genealogy collection that includes family histories and genealogical periodicals, we do have excellent history-related research materials. However, this guide is a very selective bibliography and does not attempt to be exhaustive or complete. These resources include a wide variety of standard reference sources, historical periodicals, regional histories and biographies, newspapers, maps, city directories, Wyoming census schedules, and unique manuscripts. In addition, the American Heritage Center (AHC) at UW has unique collections that may be accessed for research.

This guide is primarily designed to assist UW students whose course assignments includes researching their family history or a historical period during which their ancestors lived. Non-UW researchers are welcome to access the information that is available to them. Please note that librarians and staff are unable to provide personalized research assistance for genealogical or family history research other than directing patrons to resources.

How to Start Researching Your Family

The basic steps of genealogy

Start with living relatives - collect stories and documents
Go back in time generation by generation
Seek evidence (official documents, materials, etc.)
Be critical of all information sources (including relatives and the Internet)
Keep good notes and organized files
Remember that spelling is not consistent or standard in old records
Remember that people lie or don't accurately remember information
DNA is not the ultimate solution; genetic evidence must be correlated with other information

Don't

Start with the claim that your family is related to someone famous
Start with the belief your family came from a specific country
Believe everything you find on the Internet

13 Rules for Genealogy

Credit: GotGenealogy.com

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Useful Tools for Research

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - The most useful compendium of websites for genealogy and family history research.

Family History Sample Outline & Questions - A thorough set of questions to ask when interviewing a family member or when taking an oral history.

Tips for Oral History Interviewing (Family Tree Magazine article)

Using Local & Family History Photographs to Tell the Stories of Your Ancestors - A guide from the Library of Congress

Useful Forms:

If the links below do not work, the following forms are available for free from the Ancestry Library Edition.

Ancestral Chart
An ancestor chart records the ancestors from whom you directly descend--those for whom you intend to compile a complete and correct family unit. It shows at a glance the progress you have made towards this goal and what remains to be done.
Research Extract
Use the research extract sheets to summarize information which cannot be photocopied, for which there is no document in your possession, or for things such as deeds which may be time-consuming or difficult to reread quickly when you need information from the copy you have.
Research Calendar
The research calendar gives an account of every record source you have searched and serves as a reminder of what you have already done and where you have found pertinent information.
Correspondence Record
It is important to keep track of those with whom you have corresponded, the reasons for writing, and whether or not you have already received an answer.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.