Entrepreneurship: Intellectual Property

Use the PatFT database to search for patents issued by the United States. Use the AppFT database to search for patent applications filed in the United States. Although somewhat difficult to search, USPTO will always have the most current U.S. patent applications, posted every Tuesday. Full text documents beginning in 1976. Website contains a wealth of additional information about patents.

Search for trademarks registered in the United States. Website contains additional information about trademarks.

Excellent education, information, and assistance resource for entrepreneurs and inventors

Policy information on trademarks, patents, and copyright from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

By the Wyoming State Library.
Disseminates patent and trademark information to the state and provides patent search training.
Includes information about Wyoming inventors and trademarks.
Print collection in Cheyenne at the Wyoming State Library contains U.S. patents issued since 1790.

Search for copyrights, register a copyright, learn about statutory licensing and more.

Want to protect your work while still allowing others to use or build upon it? Creative Commons may be for you. Find information about types of CC licenses.

Resources for searching for patents for technical information.

The Research Products Center helps Wyoming entrepreneurs protect and commercialize their intellectual property.

This video addresses the basics of U.S. Copyright Law and stresses that when in doubt get permission. Made by the rights licensing experts at (for profit) Copyright Clearance Center.

Information from the Association of Research Libraries illustrating the role of libraries in maintaining balanced copyright/intellectual property

Copyright FAQ by CENDI