Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subjects: American Studies
, Communication Disorders
, Counselor Education
, Disability Studies
, Early Childhood
, Government Information
, Instructional Technology
, Native American and Indigenous Studies
, Political Science
Welcome to the University of Wyoming Libraries! Use the tabs above to navigate through this guide to find articles, books, and more for research in the field of education.
Please use the email link to the left to contact the Education Librarian, or use the chat box to contact the Research Help Desk.
If you go no further: best bets for education research
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
ERIC® indexes over 1000 education-related journals and provides access to select conference papers, research reports, books, theses, and dissertations in education.
Indexes education literature back to 1929, with full text back to 1996. Covers all levels of education.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines like education. This database is great for finding specific examples of research methodologies and survey instruments. If your topic relates to human development, personality, learning, memory, counseling, or special needs students, you should search PsycINFO.
The Digital Library hosts peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research and applications of instructional technology and e-learning.
New in Education @ UW Libraries
Check the library catalog for new books in education.
Cases on Audio-Visual Media in Language Education by Technology has permanently altered and optimized the field of education. With the assistance of innovative tools, such as multimedia technology, instructors can create a positive impact on students' learning experience. Cases on Audio-Visual Media in Language Education includes comprehensive coverage and scholarly insights on the latest trends in technology-assisted language learning techniques. Highlighting a range of perspectives on topics such as intercultural competence, student engagement, and online learning, this case book is ideally designed for educators, researchers, academics, practitioners, and professionals interested in the application of audio-visual media in contemporary teaching practices.
Call Number: P53.2 .C27 2018
Implausible Dream by Why the paradigm of the world-class university is an implausible dream for most institutions of higher education Universities have become major actors on the global stage. Yet, as they strive to be "world-class," institutions of higher education are shifting away from their core missions of cultivating democratic citizenship, fostering critical thinking, and safeguarding academic freedom. In the contest to raise their national and global profiles, universities are embracing a new form of utilitarianism, one that favors market power over academic values. In this book, James Mittelman explains why the world-class university is an implausible dream for most institutions and proposes viable alternatives that can help universities thrive in today's competitive global environment. Mittelman traces how the scale, reach, and impact of higher-education institutions expanded exponentially in the post-World War II era, and how the market-led educational model became widespread. Drawing on his own groundbreaking fieldwork, he offers three case studies--the United States, which exemplifies market-oriented educational globalization; Finland, representative of the strong public sphere; and Uganda, a postcolonial country with a historically public but now increasingly private university system. Mittelman shows that the "world-class" paradigm is untenable for all but a small group of wealthy, research-intensive universities, primarily in the global North. Nevertheless, institutions without substantial material resources and in far different contexts continue to aspire to world-class stature. An urgent wake-up call, Implausible Dream argues that universities are repurposing at the peril of their high principles and recommends structural reforms that are more practical than the unrealistic worldwide measures of excellence prevalent today.
Call Number: LB2322.2 .M57 2018
Researching Play from a Playwork Perspective by Play is of critical importance to the well-being of children across the globe, a fact reflected in Article 31 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. Yet existing literature on the subject is largely confined to discussing play from a developmental, educational or psychological perspective. Researching Play from a Playwork Perspective offers a new and exciting angle from which to view play, drawing on the authors' own experience of conducting research into various aspects of this all-important and pervasive phenomenon. This innovative work will act as a compass for those looking to undertake research into different aspects of play and child welfare. Each chapter explores how the author has combined established and new research methodologies with their individual playwork approaches to arrive at emergent understandings of playwork research. The overall conclusion discusses directions for future research and develops a new model of playwork research from the four common themes that emerge from the contributions of individual authors: children's rights, process, critical reflection, and playfulness. Examples from the United Kingdom, Nicaragua, and Sweden give this unique work international relevance. Researching Play from a Playwork Perspective will appeal to researchers and students around the world working in the fields of playwork, childcare, early years, education, psychology and children's rights. It should also be of interest to practitioners in a wide variety of professional contexts, including childcare and therapy.
Call Number: LB1137 .R47 2018