Local Archival Sources

The American Heritage Center (AHC) is the University of Wyoming's (UW) repository of manuscripts collections, rare books, and the university archives.

Major areas of collecting include Wyoming and the American West, the mining and petroleum industries, environment and natural resources, journalism, military history, transportation, the history of books, and 20th century entertainment such as popular music, radio, television, and film.

American Heritage Center Hours

What you can find there? The Emmett D. Chisum Special Collections department is the library of record for the University of Wyoming.  The collection includes (1878 - current): paper copies of the University paper, University bulletins, course descriptions and other university publications, as well as historic maps, images, sufferage bulletins and more...

E. Chisum Collection Hours

Rocky Mountain Hebarium - The RM Herbarium was founded in 1893 by Aven Nelson. It has since grown to over 800,000 specimens with approximately 25,000 new specimens added each year.  The RM Herbarium is located on the third floor of the Aven Nelson Memorial Building at the University of Wyoming. Researchers should make arrangements for access prior to visiting and should check herbarium policies.

Global Plants (www.plants.jstor.org) - Global Plants contains the contributed collections of more than 300 herbaria from around the globe. Herbaria preserve plant type specimens that are used for the study of botany, ecology, and other plant science disciplines. Plant type specimens are in great demand for scientific study because of their pivotal role as original vouchers of nomenclature. They also act as a historical record of changes in various flora.

Buffalo Bill Center of the West - The McCracken Research Library supports inquiry across many disciplines related to the American West. With extensive collections of rare books, historic photographs, and original manuscripts, the library offers scholars direct contact with the materials of history.

Wyoming State Archive- The Wyoming State Archives collects and manages public records from Wyoming state and local governments that have long term administrative, legal, and historical value. The Archives also collects non-governmental records of historical value concerning Wyoming and the western United States. This group of records includes: Western books and periodicals, Wyoming newspapers, manuscript collections, Wyoming and western maps, military records, Wyoming business records, historical photographs, and biographies.

Wyoming State Historical Society - Has many useful links to society publications and artwork.

Wyoming Newspaper Project - Available through this website are all the newspapers printed in Wyoming between 1849 and 1922, in an easily searchable format.  Newspapers printed in Wyoming after 1922 are available on microfilm.

                      Finding Aids tell you...Information about the creator or collector of the primary sources.

The types of materials in the collection.

An inventory (usually folder-level) of the items in a collection.

The MICROFORMS COLLECTION contains four major national newspapers— New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor. The only major regional paper available is the Denver Post, but numerous Wyoming papers (1922 - current) are available on microfilm.

Use this link UW catalog to search for microforms or go to Books & more/Advanced Search and limit "Material Type" to MICROFORM.