Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Willemnabuurs, 2010, Wikimedia Commons
Theatre-specific and interdisciplinary databases to find journal articles.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance This link opens in a new window
Journal articles focused on theatre and dance topics.
International Index to Performing Arts Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles focused on the performing arts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete runs of thousands of journals, up to five years ago for most titles. This archive is especially great for humanities and social science research and includes both African American Studies and African Studies as limits for your searches.
Gale Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature criticism, including drama.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides complete access to articles from more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles in over 5,000 social science and science journals from 1970 to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (except for the U.S. and Canada which are covered by a companion database, America: History & Life) from 1450 to present. Indexes over 2,000 journals plus book reviews and dissertations in the field of History. Worth considering if you need some historical context for your topic. Began indexing these sources in 1955.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
AHL covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. It provides citations and abstracts to articles, books, reviews, and dissertations.