LibGuides: CRMJ 2465: Research Methods: Journals and Databases

Sociology Journals

American Journal of Sociology
You can find this journal while doing a JSTOR search. The journal covers topics related to sociology within the United States.
American Sociological Review
This journal publishes works related to sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations.
Social Forces
Covers topics related to social research and shares these topics with psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics

Too few results?

Use fewer search terms, or swap out for synonyms.
Borrow the subject terms coming up in the sidebar.
Truncate keywords to get all variations of the word (e.g. "censor*" searches for censor, censored, censorship, and censors).

Too many results?

Be more precise (e.g. basketball instead of sports).
Add an additional keyword.
Refine your search using the facets like publication type, date range, or subject headings.

Catalog Advanced Search page
Find more Search Tips by clicking the Information button.

Still need help? Ask a Librarian!

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Major criminal justice database that indexes journals. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Criminal Justice Database
Database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals covering criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
PsycINFO (APA)
Major psychology indexing database that covers journals, books, and dissertations back to the 1800s. On the ProQuest platform.
Sociological Abstracts
Major sociology indexing database that covers journals, books, theses and conference papers back to 1952. On the ProQuest platform.

Criminology
This journal is devoted to crime and deviant behavior. Contains an app that makes it easy to browse.
Criminology and Public Policy
This journal covers topics related to criminal justice policy and practice.
Criminal Justice and Behavior
This journal is published monthly and covers topics related to different programs for correctional programs.
Justice Quarterly
The Quarterly is a multi-disciplinary journal that publishes theoretical, empirical and interpretive studies of issues related to criminal justice.
Journal of Quantitative Criminology
This journals looks at how to apply quantitative techniques to different mythological and evaluative techniques of the criminology community.
Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency
This journal talks about issues related to criminal justice and examined victims, criminals, courts, and sanctions.