Economics: Articles

Proquest EconLit

• Full-text access to many leading publications in the field of economics
• Major economics indexing / full-text database that covers journals, books, book reviews and theses back to 1969
• Subject coverage includes economic theory and application
• Includes information that is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments world-wide

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

• Major business indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles and other business sources back to 1965.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)

• Great source for policy & policy analysis: economic, business, international relations, international law
• Scholarly articles, government documents, research reports, conference papers, & more

JSTOR

• Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections, which include economics and finance resources: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content.
  

The Making of the Modern World

• The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.
• Online database with full-text and full-page-image access to books and serials related to economics in the broadest sense from 1450-1914. 
• The core of this digitized collection is based on the microfilm set Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (Microforms N4387), which contains all available books from the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration.
• The records for individual titles are searchable in the library catalog (you must check the note fields in the full record for the item number, which is indicated on the boxes of film).

Proquest Political Science

• Full-text access to many leading Political Science and International Affairs publications
• Subject coverage includes comparative politics, political economy, human rights, international development, and more
• Contains scholarly articles, news, country profiles, conference papers

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

• Source for multiple perspectives on current events, especially hotly debated issues
• Good for finding basic background information and links to more information

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!

The peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers are recommended as sources for the study of economics and finance.

Click on the link to view the holdings of UW Libraries in print and online. Note that many journals are available for reading in Browzine, a database and smartphone app that is available to UW-affiliated library patrons.

American Economic Review

Econometrica : The Journal of the Econometric Society

Journal of Economic Literature

Journal of Economic Perspectives

Journal of Econometrics

Journal of Economic Theory

Journal of Finance

Journal of Political Economy

Quarterly Journal of Economics

Journal of Financial Economics

The Economist

The Wall Street Journal (1959-present)

Academic Search Premier

• Excellent cross-disciplinary database
• Broad coverage means that Academic Search Premier is a great place to start your research

Proquest Central

• All-purpose database that allows the user to search through all of Proquest's databases
• Covers scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more

Web of Knowledge

• Contains cross-disciplinary content from several thousand journals that are carefully selected for quality and reputation of authors
• Great tool for tracing an article's sources back to other works, and learning how often a particular article has been cited by others

When you search any of the library's databases or use the QuickSearch box you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:

• Click the "Find It@UW" button .  If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear.
• If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button 

How do you know if your source is a good source? Follow the ABC's!

A: Who is the Author? Is the author an Authority on the subject?

B: Is the article free of Bias? Are there commercial or hidden interests behind the source?

C: Is it Current? Make sure your source is not outdated.

Take a look at this page for more info on how to evaluate your sources.