LibGuides: WIND 4100: Global Disability Studies: International Research

Tips for International Research

Researching topics related to International topics can be complicated because of language barriers, search engine barriers, and search term problems. It is important to keep in mind these tips as you begin to do research on the countries you choose.

If there is a language barrier you can use the basic language translators to get a basic understanding of what a website is trying to say.
Contact academic professionals from a university in the country you choose to get their guidance on organizations, journals, or databases.
You may need to get creative with search terms for international journals as they may use a different term to define an illness or disability.
Search newspapers databases as they can provide you a place to start identifying names and organizations.
Search our databases for the country you have chosen. This will show you the different databases related to that specific country.
Find Open Access materials and/or journals as they will be open for you to view without library permissions.
Current newspapers can often be accessed via the website of local newspapers.

Databases

UN Resources

Journals

Canadian Journal of Disability Studies
Journal published by the Canadian Disability Studies Association
Disability, CBR, and Inclusive Development
Disability and Global South
Disability and the Global South (DGS) is the first peer reviewed international journal committed to publishing high quality work focused exclusively on all aspects of the disability experience in the global South.
Disability and Society
This is an international journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices.
Disability Studies Quarterly
DSQ is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
International Journal of Disability, Development, and Education
This peer reviewed journal publishes on topics related to information on the education and development of persons with disabilities.
International Journal of Disability Management
This journal is hosted by Cambridge and covers topics in areas including prevention of injury and disability, occupational rehabilitation and employment of people with injury and disability.
International Journal on Disability and Human Development
This is the official journal of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development in Israel. This is no longer actively published but you can browse their previous listings.
Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
Part of Wiley Online Library this journal covers topics related to the study of intellectual disability broadly and internationally.
Review of Disability Studies
This is a peer-reviewed academic journal that is targeted towards many different topics related to disabilities studies all over the world.
Scandinavian Journal of Disability Research
Published through Taylor and Francis Online this journal was established by the Nordic Network on Disability Research and covers topics related to social research on disability in the five Nordic countries.

Websites

International Centre for Disability and Rehabilitation
This is part of the University of Toronto and is a collection of people who focus on disabilities in Canada and around the world focusing on rehabilitation research, education, and advocacy.
International Centre for Evidence in Disability
The organization is a part of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. The aim is to establish LSHTM as an international centre with expertise and competence in disability research and teaching in the context of public health and development.
International Disability Alliance
This organization brings together the United Nations' efforts to advance human rights and sustainable development by supporting organizations of persons with disabilities.
International Disability Human Rights Research Network
The purpose of the network is to provide a platform for disability rights researchers to link with key human rights organisations and with the voice of people with disabilities to spur research that is directly responsive to rights violations discovered by human rights bodies.
International Foundation of Applied Disability Research
This is a foundation dedicated to applied disability research, financing research involving field workers, including associations, and researchers.
Center for Studying Disability Policy
The center provides policymakers and administrators with the information they need to support decisions related to disability policies and programs.
List of International Disability Studies Programs
Here is a list of international disability studies programs along with a list of interdisciplinary disability studies journals.
World Health Organization - Disability
The WHO can be a great resource and this website features advocacy materials and publications.
World Report on Disability - WHO
This report was published in 2011 and focuses on the global picture of disability.