Skip to Main Content

National Network of Libraries of Medicine: Home


The mission of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) is to advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by: 1) providing all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information; and, 2) improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.  The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine (NLM)  and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers.

The NN/LM, formerly the Regional Medical Library Program, has served the biomedical information needs of the nation for over fifty years. Established in the Medical Library Assistance Act of 1965, member libraries and information centers in the NN/LM provide health professionals and the general public with health information resources and services.

Wyoming is in one of the eight administrative regions of the NN/LM, the MidContinental Region, which is composed of six states: Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Utah and Wyoming.  Each region is led by a Regional Medical Library (RML) that is awarded that status in a competitive process and assumes that role under a 5 year cooperative agreement.

The University of Utah Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library serves as the Regional Medical Library in the MidContinental Region and is assisted by six funded Partner Libraries.  Dispersed in the six states, each Partner Library supports health information outreach within its state and provides leadership and coordination for a special project area. A coordinator resides in each Partner Library with the  University of Wyoming Libraries hosting a coordinator for Wyoming.  The Wyoming Coordinator conducts outreach to the state and is the Member Services Coordinator for the Region.


Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Ask a Librarian
Coe Library Help Desk: 307-766-3190