Researchers in the field of education use guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, also known as APA style. Check with your professor to see whether you should use the 5th or 6th edition of APA. Sample citations (6th) are given below, or you can find more guidance at this Web site: Purdue Online Writing Lab
A citation manager like RefWorks can help you organize resources and incorporate them into your paper. Many databases will generate citations for articles or books. If you take advantage of these features, double check your references with the APA manual, available at the Reference Desk in Coe Library, call number Ref Ready BF 76.7 .P83 2010 (6th edition), or one of the online guides listed above.
Sample citations, APA 6th edition:
Journal article. If a library database or the article itself lists a DOI number (digital object identifier) for the article, include it in your reference:
Wasilik, O., & Bolliger, D.U. (2009). Faculty satisfaction in the online environment: An institutional study. Internet and Higher Education, 12, 173-178. doi:10.1016/j.iheduc.2009.05.001
If you retrieve the article online and the article does not have a DOI, include the URL for the journal or publisher home page. You may need to do a quick Internet search to find the journal home page. It is not necessary to include the name of the database or the date you downloaded the article. If you used a print article or an article easily found in multiple online databases, end the citation after the page numbers (APA 6th ed., pp. 191-192).
Seto, A., Young, S., Becker, K., & Kiselica, M. (2006). Application of the triad training model in a multicultural counseling course. Counselor Education & Supervision, 45(4), 304-318. Retrieved from http://aca.metapress.com
Include the name of or URL for a database when the document cannot be retrieved elsewhere. Many education papers or other informally published items are archived in the ERIC database (http://eric.ed.gov).
Nganga, L., & Kambutu, J. (2005). Multicultural educational experiences in rural education programs. Lessons from early childhood programs. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED494931)
Chapter in a print book:
Chamberlin, S. A. (2005). Secondary mathematics for high-ability students. In F. Dixon & S. Moon (Eds.), The Handbook of Secondary Gifted Education (pp. 145-163). Waco, TX: Prufrock Press.