LibGuides: Law School Success: Subject-Specific Study Aids

Electronic Study Aids

The Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) offers student lessons on various legal topics. First-time users must create an account using law school’s authorization code.

Lexis Digital Library
The Lexis Digital Library provides virtual access to a large collection of treatises, practice guides, study guides and more in e-book format. Includes legal study aids from the following series: Mastering, Questions & Answers, Skills & Values, and Understanding. Available to George W. Hopper students, faculty, and staff.

Quimbee
Quimbee, an ABA-endorsed study aid, provides access to case briefs, videos, professor-written practice exams with model answers, and over 3,000 practice questions with explanations. The George W. Hopper Law Library provides Quimbee accounts to our UW College of Law students.

Themis Law School Essentials
Themis offers free Law School Essential courses, each tailored to subjects that are covered in your 1L and 2L/3L years.

West Academic Study Aids
The West Academic Study Aids collection includes legal study aids from the following series: Acing, Black Letter Outlines, Concepts and Insights, Exam Pro, Flash Cards, Gilbert Law Summaries, Hornbooks, Law School Legends Audio, Nutshells, Office Hours, Quick Reviews, Short & Happy Guides, Step-By-Step Guides, and Sum and Substance Audio. Available to George W. Hopper students, faculty, and staff.

Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library
The Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library includes legal study aids from the following series: Academic Success, Casenote Legal Briefs, Emanuel CrunchTime, Examples & Explanations, Friedman’s Practice Series, Glannon Guides, and Jumpstart. Available to George W. Hopper students, faculty, and staff.

And coming soon, Studicata

Print Study Aids

The George W. Hopper Law Library maintains a current print study aid collection housed behind the help desk. Students may check out print study aids for a three-hour period. To find a specific study aid in print, search the Library Catalog for the title or series. Older editions of our print study aids are available within the library treatise room for an extended checkout period.

Note that the many of the study aids are available in print and as e-books.

Study Aids Series

Study aids present material in different formats: flow charts, outlines, and text. Here is a set of descriptions for the most popular titles to help you navigate which series might work best for you. The links for each series will take you to the Library Catalog, showing which specific legal topics our collection has for each series.

The descriptions also note which series are available electronically and where to access them.

Acing
The Acing series provides brief checklist summaries along with problems and answers. Each chapter ends with a list of "points to remember." This series is included in the West Academic Study Aids database.
Concepts and Insights
Concepts and Insights books provide a concise summary of a legal subject, attending to frequently assigned cases. This series is included in the West Academic Study Aids database.
Courtroom Cast (Audio)
Courtroom Cast provides audio and video files for many cases commonly read in law school courses. Registration is free to University of Wyoming College of Law students.
Emanuel CrunchTime
The Emanuel CrunchTime series offers these features: flow charts, summaries, both short answer and multiple choice sample questions and answers, essay questions with sample answers, and exam tips. This series is available in Wolters Kluwer's Online Study Aid Library.
Examples and Explanations
Each chapter of Examples and Explanations books begins with an explanation of the law, followed by examples (questions) and explanations (answers). This series is available in Wolters Kluwer's Online Study Aid Library.
Glannon Guides
Glannon Guides emphasize practice and review of multiple choice questions and the analyses of all the answers provided. This series is available in Wolters Kluwer's Online Study Aid Library.
Jumpstart Series
The Jumpstart Series provides a concise overview of a legal subject, along with example cases and analysis. Each book ends with a subject-specific chapter on exams. This series is available in Wolters Kluwer's Online Study Aid Library.
Law School Legends (Audio)
Audio lectures providing an overview in outline format on a variety of law school topics. This series is included in the West Academic Study Aids subscription.
Mastering
The Mastering series highlights and explains key concepts for a given subject, illustrating with important cases. Each book in the series provides a master checklist for that topic. This series is included in the Lexis Digital Library.
Nutshells
Nutshells provide condensed explanations of a legal subject. This series is included in the West Academic Study Aids database.
Questions and Answers
Questions and Answers books offer lots of practice questions along with answers and usually include multiple choice and short answer formats. This series is included in the LexisNexis Digital Library.
Short and Happy Guides
The Short & Happy Guides provide summaries of a legal subject, with reference to commonly assigned cases. This series is included in the West Academic Study Aids database.
Siegel's
Siegel's focuses on exam prep and includes both multiple-choice questions and essay questions.
Sum and Substance of Law (Audio)
Audio coverage over a range of topics, including most 1L courses. This series is included in the West Academic Study Aids subscription.
Turning Point
The Turning Point Series explains the historical development of a relatively narrow legal subject, for example territorial jurisdiction and venue.
Understanding Series
The Understanding series provides a basic overview and analysis of a given legal subject, often including discussion of major cases discussed in most law school classes. This series is included in the LexisNexis Digital Library.