Skip to Main Content

Law School Success: Getting Started

This guide features resources to help you succeed in law school.

Introduction

This guide provides a selective overview of academic support resources available to law students through the George W. Hopper Law Library and the University of Wyoming College of Law. You will find leads to information on exam taking, studying, time management, and technology.

Academic Support from UW College of Law

Textbook Support

The law library makes available for checkout two copies of each required UW College of Law course textbook and one copy of each elective textbook.  Textbooks may be checked out for three hours from the law library Help Desk.  

In addition, some required and optional textbooks may be available as ebooks through database subscriptions provided by the law library. 

Attribution

Many thanks to the Moritz Law Library at The Ohio State University for approved adoption of their LibGuide template.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

 

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

 


Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

 

 

yellow arrow on a sky blue boxInterlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!

 

Law School Success Lessons by CALI

Law School Academic Success Project

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI), a non-profit consortium of mostly US law schools, has brought together members of the academic success community to create interactive lessons on succeeding in law school.  The lessons intend to develop students’ critical-thinking skills and prepare them to handle the unique demands of law school.

To determine which CALI lessons are best for your needs, click on A Good Place To Start ... Depends On Where You Are Beginning!   In this short lesson you will answer a series of questions to be matched with lessons within these categories.

  • Foundation - What Everyone Assumes I Know
  • Class Prep - Before, During, After  
  • Exams - Preparing and Attacking
  • Reflection - Maintain or Improve on Prior Performance
  • Bar Prep

CALI also provides Lawbooks to support your law school success, such as A First Generation's Guide to Law School, a source for first-gen students who are entering or are currently attending law school. It introduces students to law school vocabulary and available resources, gives guidance about how to prepare for the unique challenges of law school, and provides a roadmap for things like participating in class, studying for and taking exams, joining extracurriculars, taking care of your mental health, and networking. The guide includes interactive exercises that test the student's knowledge of concepts, encourages the student to reflect on their own interests and experiences, and explore resources in their law school and elsewhere.