Larry Adler Papers, 1927-1995
Acc. #8198
Larry Adler was a well-known musician that during World War II, went on USO tours with dancer Paul Draper across the world.
The collection contains photographs of Adler and Jack Benny on the USO tour as well as Adler's personal accounts of the war.
Jack Benny Papers, 1894-1993
Acc. #8922
Jack Benny was an actor and comedian, becoming a national celebrity with his Jack Benny Show (1943-1958). During World War II, he was known to travel on USO tours.
The collection contains documents and photographs about all aspects of Benny's career as an entertainer, including his beginnings in vaudeville and various recordings and footage of his acting and radio presence.
Murray C. Bernays Papers, 1919-1975
Acc. #2817
A Russian immigrant, Murray Bernays served in World War I before receiving his law degree from Columbia University in 1919. During World War II, he rejoined the U.S. Army and served with the U.S. Army General Staff Corps where he planned the legal framework and procedures for the Nuremberg War Crime Trials.
The collection includes Bernays' personal files regarding the Nuremberg Trials as well as correspondence from the trials and his service record.
Clay Blair Papers, 1945-1998
Acc. #8295
During World War II, Clay Blair volunteered for the submarine service. After the war, he would become a well-known authority on submarines and military history. Over the course of his career, Blair published numerous books on various parts of military history.
The collection includes various documents about U.S. submarine operations in the Pacific and Atlantic during World War II. These documents were Blair's research files for his books and include notes, interviews, and other files that he compiled.
Russell Brines Papers, 1924-1982
Acc. #8894
Russell Brines was a journalist for the Associated Press who covered both World War II in the Philippines and Japan and the Korean War. Brines authored the book MacArthur's Japan as well as was an expert on Japanese and Asian affairs.
The collection contains correspondence, research files, and photographs from Brines' time covering the war for the Associated Press.
Harry C. Butcher Papers, 1930-1977
Acc. #9431
Harry Butcher served as General Dwight D. Eisenhower's naval aide and a broadcast executive during World War II. In 1938, Butcher joined the U.S. Naval Reserve and was called for active duty in 1942, where he spent three years with Gen. Eisenhower. During his time as Eisenhower's aide, Butcher kept a diary which was the basis for the book, My Three Years with Eisenhower.
The collection contains mostly correspondence, photographs, and scrapbooks of Butcher's life and his service with Gen. Eisenhower. A few copies of My Three Years with Eisenhower in various languages are also in the collection.
Joseph Castro Papers, 1937-1970
Acc. #9081
In 1937, Joseph Castro enlisted in the U.S. Marine Corps and served in World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War. He was stationed in North China from 1945-1946 and in Okinawa from 1961-1962. In 1969, Castro retired with the rank of Major.
The collection contains Castro's military records, correspondence, photograph albums, and other items from his military career.
Sonia Tomara Clark Papers, 1935-1979
Acc. #7219
Sonia Tomara Clark was a journalist that worked for a variety of newspapers and military intelligence across Europe. During World War II, she served as a foreign and war correspondent in Italy, Poland, the Balkans, India, China, England, and Germany.
The collection contains miscellaneous documents relating to Clark's career as a journalist as well as photographs and film negatives of Clark, Italy, and Benito Mussolini.
Paul Deutschman Papers, 1942-1998
Acc. #7890
Paul Deutschman served as a foreign correspondent for Life, Newsweek, and The Nation. Deutschman was stationed in North Africa during World War II, where he kept a diary about the war. The diary was published and became the first eye witness account of the effects of Allied bombing on civilians.
The collection contains correspondence, field notebooks, various notes, and Deutschman's diary from World War II. Also included are photographs and correspondence from during the war.
John Lord Ferguson Papers, 1942-1946
Acc. #10743
John Lord Ferguson served as a legal attaché to assist the legal team of the Military War Crimes Tribunal during his time as a U.S. Army Officer. After World War II, the Tribunal tried Japanese officers for their treatment of prisoners of war in the Philippines.
The collection contains photocopies of diaries, poetry, and photographs from prisoners of war in the Philippines. The collections also contains transcriptions from the trials of the Military War Crimes Tribunal.
Guy H. Gale Papers, 1915-1974
Acc. #10878
Guy H. Gale was a pioneer in the military aviation field and a decorated officer. In 1917, he volunteered for the U.S. Army Air Service and trained as a pilot in Italy during World War I. In World War II, he also served in the U.S. Army Air Forces and took part in invasions of North Africa and Italy. Gale continued serving until 1953, when we retired from the U.S. Air Force with the rank of Colonel.
The collection contains Gale's service records, photographs, correspondence, and artifacts from Gale's time serving in the armed forces.
Husband Edward Kimmel Papers, 1907-1999
Acc. #3800
Husband E. Kimmel served as an officer in the U.S. Navy from 1904 to 1942. On February 1, 1941, he reached the rank of Admiral, assuming command of the U.S. Pacific Fleet and combined U.S. Fleet at Pearl Harbor. After the attack on Pearl Harbor by the Japanese in December 1941, he was held accountable for lack of preparedness, was replaced, demoted, and retired without a court-martial.
The collection contains documents and materials gathers by Kimmel to prepare his defense and write his book, Admiral Kimmel's Story. The book challenged the accusation that he was derelict in the preparation of naval forces and was responsible for the destruction caused by the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. The collection also contains other documents on Kimmel's military career.
Herbert G. Luft Papers, 1940-1992
Acc. #9033
Herbert Luft was a German native who was interned at the Dachau concentration camp for six months in 1938 before fleeing Germany. Luft and his wife worked for the U.S. Office of War Information later in the war creating and broadcasting allied propaganda in Nazi Germany. Luft also served as a film editor on a project covering the trial of Adolph Eichmann.
The collection contains correspondence, audio tapes, scripts, and other documents pertaining to his work on propaganda as well as the transcripts of a pre-trail examination of Eichmann.
Ronald W. Sandefer Papers, 1921-2000
Acc. #11458
Ronald Sandefer was a teacher who traveled the world. During World War II, Sandefer's uncle, Theodore H. Sandefer, was a prisoner of war in Germany.
The collection contains materials regarding Theodore H. Sandefer, including a journal that he kept of his daily life in a P.O.W. camp in Germany.
Richard Tregaskis Papers, 1886-1983
Acc. #6346
Richard Tregaskis served as a war correspondent during World War II as diabetes prevented him from enlisting in the Armed Forces. He covered both the Pacific and European theaters until he was badly wounded in Italy. During his time as a war correspondent, Tregaskis covered nine wars, including World War II, the Chinese Civil War, Korea, and Vietnam.
The collection contains correspondence, diaries, notes, drafts, and photographs from Tregaskis' time as a war correspondent.