LibGuides: COJO 3300: Advertising in the Media: Company + Industry Information

Welcome, COJO 3300 students!

This guide has been created specifically to help you with your COJO 3300 research project involving General Mills "Minis" cereals.

As you research General Mills, keep in mind that it is a publicly traded company with the following ticker symbol: GIS

Some of our databases will allow you to search by ticker symbol, which may be more productive than querying "General Mills" as a keyword.

In addition, our Simply Analytics database partners have created a tutorial specifically tailored to this assignment. It will be worth your while to watch that tutorial (at least the first 20 minutes) before you start your consumer demographics research!

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Company and Industry Information

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Major business indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles and other business sources back to 1965. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports; thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection; and deep research coverage with scholarly journals, business news, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Business reference database that covers US and international companies, including their government filings. On the Mergent platform. Simultaneous user limit of 3.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Database of industry market research and risk ratings reports. Initial personal registration is required to access this resource.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Online market research tool monitoring international industry trends, market size, and market share for a wide range of products.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Questions? Ask your librarian!

David Kruger

Email Me

Contact:

304N Coe Library

Research and Instruction

Laramie, WY 82071-3334

Library Session Evaluation

Library Session Evaluation