Skip to Main Content

International Human Rights Law: Secondary Sources

This guide highlights resources available to University of Wyoming College of Law students in the research and study of international human rights law. For more information on resources or access, consult one your friendly law librarians.

Treatises

Our library subscribes to a number of e-book collections which include international human rights law such as Cambridge Books Online, DeGruyter Online, Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, and Oxford Scholarship Online.  Run a search in the Law Library catalog to discover to e-books in these collections.

Aside from e-books, these more current treatises, and perhaps others, are found on the George W. Hopper Law Library shelves.  Browse through the table of contents and index of a treatise for coverage. 

The Cambridge Companion to International Human Rights Law, William Schabas, Treatise Room KZ 7000 .C36 2015

The Changing Nature of Religious Rights Under International Law, Malcolm Evans et al., Treatise Room K 3258 .C47 2015

The Child in International Refugee Law, Jason Pobjoy, Treatise Room KZ 6530 .P63 2017

Climate Justice and Human Rights, Tracey Skillington, Treatise Room K 3585.5 .S58 2017

Encyclopedia of Human Rights, David P. Forsythe, Treatise Room JC 571 .E673 2009 (vols. 1-5) 

The Human Right to Water, Jimena Murillo Chavarro, Treatise Room K 3260 .M87 2015 

Human Rights in Armed Conflict, Gerd Oberleitner, Treatise Room, KZ 6471 .O24 2015

Human Rights Standards, Makau Mutua, Treatise Room JC 571 .M954 2016

International Human Rights Law Sourcebook, Andrew Borene et al.,  Treatise Room K 3238 .I573 2014

International Humanitarian Law (Law of Armed Conflict) Sourcebook, Andrew Borene et al., Reference  KZ 6462 .I58 2014

International Law and Child Soldiers, Gus Waschefort, Treatise Room KZ 6418.3 .W37 2015

International Protection of Human Rights, Dinah Shelton, Treatise Room KZ 1266 .I588 2017

International Tribunals and Human Security, James Meernik, KZ 7230 .M44 2016

The Legitimacy of International Human Rights Regimes, Andreas Follesdal et al., Treatise Room K 3240 .L45 2014

Making Human: World Order and the Global Governance of Human Dignity, Matthew Weinert, Treatise Room JZ 1318 .W444 2015

Promise of Human Rights, Jamie Mayerfeld, Treatise Room KZ 1266 .M39 2016

Transmitting Rights, International Organizations and the Diffusion of Human Rights Practices, Brian Greenhill, Treatise Room JZ 4850 .G74 2015

Articles & Law Reviews

There is a wealth of journals with international human rights as their focus. The following strategies will get you access to law journals (if you have a specific article in mind) or to a law review index (if you have a topic to search).

HeinOnline may be used to retrieve law review articles by citation in the law journal library.  HeinOnline also includes access to the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals which includes articles published in other countries.  

If you are starting with a topic, Lexis and Westlaw index many journals specializing in human rights issues.

If you have a citation in hand and would like to find an article in print, our law library has a number of international human rights law journals shelved alphabetically on the second floor of the library.  

To review a list of our journal titles, start at our library catalog, select "advanced" search, type in relevant keywords.  Under "material type" click on "journal," and select "submit."  Both print and electronic titles will be listed.

 

Research Guides

A plethora of bibliographies and guides on researching human rights law are available on the web.  Save yourself time by starting with the list compiled by the University of Minnesota Human Rights Library.

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Bibliographies and Guides 

This site offers over forty guides and bibliographies, published by various institutions, linking to electronic and print resources on human rights law.  Sample resources include ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: Human Rights, Bibliography: Human Rights in the African Context, and the International Humanitarian Law Database. 

For historical research, our library does have this multi-volume bibliography. 

Human Rights Bibliography: United Nations Documents and Publications, 1980-1990, United Nations Library, Geneva, in cooperation with the Centre for Human Rights, Treatise Room K 3236 .H863 1993.