LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Articles

Best Databases for Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major criminal justice database that indexes journals. On the EBSCOhost platform.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice indexing database that covers journals, books, research reports, media and government documents back to 1975. On the ProQuest platform.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals covering criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

Current Events & Global Issues

New York Times This link opens in a new window
New users will need to go to accessnyt.com, select University of Wyoming – Laramie, Wyoming from the drop-down menu, then follow the instructions to create an account.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper database that provides content from the U.S. and around the world back to 1984. On the ProQuest platform.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. statistical information, including indexing to publications and some full-text publications. This comes in various series; presently the Libraries have only the Federal Series. On the ProQuest platform.
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
A statistics resource that contains statistical abstracts of approximately 40 countries.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau) This link opens in a new window
Statistical reference database that collects data from federal agencies, which means it covers almost all subject areas. On the Census Bureau platform.

Suggested Journals

The links below will take you to the online version of each of these peer reviewed journals. Here you can browse or conduct a keyword search to find articles on your subject published within these journals.

Criminal Justice journals:

Journal of Criminal Justice

Criminology

Justice Quarterly

Journal of Research in Crime & Delinquency

Punishment & Society

Sociology journals:

American Sociological Review

Social Problems

Sociological Spectrum

Social Forces

American Journal of Sociology

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!

Criminal Justice

Ask a Librarian

Search QuickSearch Scopes

Best Databases for Criminal Justice

Current Events & Global Issues

Suggested Journals

Library Search/Retrieval Options