LibGuides: Wyoming Social Workers Resources: Databases

Acquiring Full Text

Your best source of information is a health sciences library. Check to see if you have access to:

Some databases, such as PubMed (click on Free Full Text) and ProQuest Central (click on Full Text), have a filter button that allows you to limit your search results to the full text available in that database.
A staffed hospital library, if you are employed by a hospital.
The State Library, if you are employed at your state department of health or a public health department.
Loansome Doc, an interlibrary loan service through PubMed, allows you to order articles from the designated resource library in your state. In Wyoming, the library is Univerisity of Wyoming Libraries in Laramie. Register here: https://docline.gov/loansome/login.cfm An instructional folder can be found here: http://nnlm.gov/training/resources/ldtrifold.pdf Not in Wyoming? Contact the designated medical resource library for your state. This library will be an academic library that is a member of the National Networks of Libraries of Medicine. (NN/LM)
Publishers are an alternative source. In PubMed, click on the publisher button and purchase article directly. Costs will range from free to $75 per article.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

GoWyLD.net


Database	Tutorials
GoWyLD.net In Wyoming the state-wide databases are available at GoWyLD.net. All you need to use the databases is a public library card. Watch this video for more information about the databases and how to access them:	GoWyLD.net Video tutorial from UW Libraries showing how to log into GoWyLD using Wyoming public library card, getting to the Health & Medicine databases and highlighting some of the 14 databases.

Wyoming is one of several states that has a consortium of libraries that purchase access to databases and resources available through public, academic and special libraries. Other states include Florida, Washington, Oregon, and Kansas, among others. To find out if your state has state-wide access to health sciences databases, contact your nearest public library.

PubMed


Database	Tutorials
PubMed This link will take you directly to PubMed, but will not give you the handy FindIT@UW button. Watch the video below to see how to get the full text articles.	Video: Need the Full Text Article? This video shows how to limit PubMed to Free Full Text Articles, and how to purchase articles not freely available. PubMed Tutorials Need a refresher on searching PubMed? Watch these short videos from the PubMed Tutorials page

Other Freely Available Databases

Databases	Tutorials
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center Government, journal articles and ERIC documents on educational topics for all ages.	Advanced Search Tips
Campbell Collaboration Social Welfare Systematic Reviews
Health Evidence from McMaster Free registration required. Provides reviews of the effectiveness of public health interventions.	Search Tips How to use Health Evidence

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.