Skip to main content

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

University of Wyoming - Libraries

History : Books

Use this guide to help you find information about history.

Find Books and Media at UW

 

Books & Media search

ebooks, dvds, music scores

 
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A database of up-to-date encyclopedias and dictionaries, Gale Virtual Reference Library currently provides access to 20 history reference works, including:

                 

Reference Books

Encyclopedias and other reference books are great ways to find background information, bibliographies of recommended books, and search terms for database searching. Here is a small sample of what you can find in the 2nd floor Reference area:

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance (6 volumes) Ref. CB361 .E52 1999

Timetables of History Ref. D11 .G78 1991

Dictionary of the Middle Ages (14 volumes) Ref. D114 .D5 1982

Europe: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World Ref. D209 .E97 2004

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia Ref. DS4 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of African History Ref. DT20 .E53 2005

Encyclopeida of Latin American History and Culture Ref. F1406 .E53 2008

Browsing the Book Shelves

Call numbers in Library of Congress Classification If you wish to browse the shelves of circulating books, reference books, or videos look for these LC letters:

D History: Europe, Asia, Africa

D History (General)

DA Great Britain DAW Central Europe

DB Austria. Hungary. Czechoslovakia

DC France

DD Germany

DE The Greco-Roman World

DF Greece

DG Italy

DH Low Countries. Benelux Countries

DJ Netherlands (Holland)

DJK Eastern Europe (General)

DK Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics. Poland

DL Northern Europe. Scandinavia

DP Spain. Portugal

DQ Switzerland

DR Balkan Peninsula. Turkey

DS Asia

  DS36-39  Arab Countires

  DS700-799  China

DT Africa

DU Oceania (South Seas)

DX Gypsies

E  United States

F1-975 US by state

F1201-3799 Latin America