Skip to main content

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

University of Wyoming - Libraries

History : Websites

Use this guide to help you find information about history.

Useful Websites

  • American Fact Finder  Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US census.
  • American Memory American Memory is a scholarly database of American History from the Library of Congress. This database is a good source for historical photographs. There are notable sections on Native Americans, women's sufferage, the military and war, and African American history. Check it out!
  • CIA World Factbook Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, and military for 267 world entities.
  • EuroDocs This database contains primary historical documents from Western Europe. The database contains links to open access sources, maintained by the Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University.
  • Making of America Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history. The collection contains books and journals from the 19th century Antebellum period through reconstruction. This database is a joint effort from Cornell University and the University of Michigan. Try the "subject browsing" for an effective search.
  • National Archives Explore our nation's history through our documents, photos, and records.
  • New York Heritage.org This on-line databases contains thousands of historical photos, diaries, newspapers, maps and other items from 160 collections of libraries, historical societies, museums and archives across New York State.
  • United States Memorial Holocaust Museum The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum exists to "inspire citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, promote human dignity, and prevent genocide." This website provides link to featured collections, archives, and exhibitions from the museum located in Washington DC.
  • WikiLeaks is an international, online, non-profit organisation which publishes secret information, news leaks and classified media from anonymous sources.