Skip to main content

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

University of Wyoming - Libraries

Dental Hygiene : Citing Sources

This guide provides resources for students in the Dental Hygiene program.

Style Guide

For many of your style and citation questions, it's best to go straight to the source! Find a copy of the APA manual at the Help Desk.

APA Online Guides

APA Citation Style is used when writing or citing works in the social sciences or business.

Defining Plagiarism

What is plagiarism?

“To steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own : use (another's production) without crediting the source.”
plagiarism. (2010). In Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary.Retrieved August 10, 2010, from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/plagiarism

When should you cite your sources?

  1. If you directly quote a source
  2. If you paraphrase ideas from another person's work
  3. If you summarize ideas from another person's work

Types of plagiarism

Blending

  • Mixing words or ideas from an unacknowledged source in with your own words or ideas.
  • Mixing together uncited words and ideas from several sources into a single work.
  • Mixing together properly cited uses of a source with uncited uses.

Direct Plagiarism

  • A phrase or passage that is copied word for word, but not quoted.

Paraphrasing

  • Rephrasing another person’s work and inserting into your own work without acknowledging the original source.

Insufficient Acknowledgement

  • Half crediting source; whereby you acknowledge the author’s work the first time, but continue to use the author’s words without giving additional attribution.

Manage my citations?

Temporary Folders:

  • In PubMed, move citations to Clipbord. The citations will be kept for eight hours if you close out of PubMed and return on the same computer within that time. Clipboard will let you  print, save, email or send to Collections, a permanent folder.
  • EBSCO databases, such as CINAHL, have My Folder, which will save citations just for that session. If you close out and come back, all your citations will be gone. Once you have citations in My Folder, you can print, save, move to a permanent folder, or email.

Permanent Folders:

  • In PubMed, sign up for MyNCBI, which is free. This permanent folder allows you to save searches, set up alerts, save citations in folders within Collections, check previous search strategies that will be saved automatically for several months and set preferences, such as highlight keywords in your search results. For video tutorials, go to the PubMed Tutorials page. 
  • EBSCO also has a permanent folder called Folder or My EBSCOhost. The advantange to this is that you can save searches and citations from multiple databases including CINAHL.
  • ProQuest/CSA have a folder called My Research, which not only saves your searches, but will link to RefWorks to manage bibliographies for assignments and articles.

Citation Management Programs:

  • EndNoteBasic (formerly EndNoteWeb) and RefWorks are citation management programs that will store your citations, allow you to link to your references and will create a bibliography for you after you have finished your paper. Both of these programs will be available to you whilel you are a student or employeed at University of Wyoming. For more information about using these programs, see the EndNoteBasic HELP and the RefWorks Tutorial.
  • Free Citation Generators that are on the Internet and can be used after graduation are: