LibGuides: Plant Sciences: Articles

Introductory Databases for Articles from a General or Metacommentary Perspective

For getting started with AECL-related research, these sources are great places to start. General databases like ProQuest Central and Academic Search Premier are excellent for searching across general, interdisciplinary publications. Other sources such as Global Issues and CQ Researcher provide critical analysis on contemporary and/or controversial issues.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Global Issues Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized primary source material, government documents, publications, and videos covering issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in the Asia-Pacific region. On the Alexander Street platform.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Current events full-text magazine that provides overview articles on "hot topics" back to 1991. On the CQPress platform.

Plant Science Databases for Articles from Agricultural (including Food and Economic) Perspectives

These databases are good places to start for articles about world food topics and world agricultural issues, largely from an apolitical perspective. Econlit is a must if you're looking for economic impact pertaining to a topic, while Food Studies Online is a great place for multimedia content related to food topics.

AGRICOLA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Major agricultural indexing database that is based on the National Agriculture Library collection and includes journal articles, book chapters, books, theses, patents, software, media and technical reports back to 1970. On the ProQuest platform.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Agricultural indexing database that covers journals, annual reports, books, conference papers and theses back to 1973. On the EBSCOhost platform. Simultaneous user limit of 4.
Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Major economics indexing/full-text database that covers journals, books, book reviews and theses back to 1969. On the ProQuest platform.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Environmental indexing database that covers journals, conference papers, reports, books and government documents back to 1960. On the ProQuest platform.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, but its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.

AgRIS
A creation of FAO under the United Nations, AGRIS provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with agricultural science and technology worldwide. Topics covered include forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic science and fisheries, and human nutrition.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environmental indexing/full-text database that selectively covers journals, magazines and government documents. On the EBSCOhost platform.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Other Specialized Databases

Agriculture Collection (via Gale Cengage)
Not as comprehensive as AGRICOLA or CAB Abstracts, but worth checking.
Plant Management Network
Select their "Grow: Plant Health Exchange" link to focus on research regarding prominent crops such as corn, cotton, potatoes, soybeans, tomatoes, wheat, etc.