LibGuides: Sociology : Articles

Best Databases for Sociology

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major sociology indexing database that covers journals, books, theses and conference papers back to 1952. On the ProQuest platform.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
Psycinfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Major psychology indexing database that covers journals, books, and dissertations back to the 1800s. On the EBSCOhost platform.

Other Specialized Databases

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Applied social science indexing database that covers journal articles back to 1987. On the ProQuest platform.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Social science indexing database that covers journals, books and book chapters back to 1951. On the ProQuest platform.
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Social Theory is an innovative and highly practical resource for students and scholars in the humanities and social sciences. The database brings together an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day. Included in the more than 150,000 pages of searchable content are seminal works by such theorists as Harriet Martineau, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Max Weber, Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, Jürgen Habermas, Talcott Parsons, Michel Foucault and Jean Baudrillard.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major social work indexing database that covers journal articles back to 1965. On the EBSCOhost platform.

Getting Full Text

When you search any of the library's databases or use the QuickSearch box you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:

Click the "Find It@UW" button . If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear.
If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.