LibGuides: French: Articles

Core article databases for French

We don't have any French-language only databases; however, you can choose to search in French in some. Always try searching on the word(s) in both French and English.

The databases below contain mostly scholarly journal articles, but may also include book chapters, conference papers, whole books, dissertations, and perhaps other formats. Check with your professor to see what you should use in a paper.

JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary ejournal and ebook platform that provides full-text of library-licensed journals and ebooks. On its own platform.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major English and modern language indexing database that covers of journals, books and theses back to 1926.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Multinational author database that provides full-text author bio-critical essays (with supporting documents). On the Gale Artemis platform.

Google Scholar en francais
You can use this Google Scholar site to search for journal articles or books in Google Books in French.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Getting full text

When you search any of the library's databases or use the article search box on the library's home page, you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:

Click the "Find It@UW" button
If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article appears
If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.