Spanish: Articles

When you search any of the library's databases or use the article search box on the library's home page, you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:

• Click on this button: 
• If we have access to the article, it will open or a window will open with a link to the article, looking something like this: 
• There are other options on the right side, under the UW Libraries' logo: you can browse that issue of the journal or click on the Request It button to request the full text if we don't have a subscription to the journal.

Keywords:

• Try searching in both English and Spanish if possible to find more results

• Combine keywords together using AND, OR, and NOT

  • “La Llorona” AND folklore AND horror

  • “La Virgen” OR “La Virgen de Guadalupe” OR Guadalupe

  • “La Llorona” NOT film

• It’s okay to try multiple combinations until you find one that works for you!

Phrase searching:

•  To search for a phrase, such as La Virgen de Guadalupe, put the words in quotations. "La Virgen de Guadalupe" 
  • This will help the database search for the phrase you are looking for instead of individual keywords

Results in Spanish:

• Use a filter for English or Spanish language articles
  • Some articles may have both a Spanish and an English abstract, so review the whole article

The databases below contain mostly scholarly journal articles, but may also include book chapters, conference papers, whole books, dissertations, and perhaps other formats. Check with your professor to see what you should use in a paper.

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!