LibGuides: Classical Languages & Civilizations: Background Information

Language dictionaries

Oxford Latin Dictionary by P. G. W. Glare (Editor)
Call Number: PA2365.E5 O9

ISBN: 0198642245

Publication Date: 1983-03-24

The Oxford Latin Dictionary is a comprehensive and authoritative reference work for students, teachers, professionals, and general readers interested in classical languages and literature, ancient history, medieval studies, languages, art history, ancient philosophy, religion, archaeology, law, medicine, and natural science.
Oxford Greek-English Learner's Dictionary
Call Number: PA1139.E5 S73 2008b

ISBN: 9780194325684

Publication Date: 2009

This dictionary places particular emphasis on the idioms of Greek and their translation into English, with information on grammar and usage as well as just meaning.
Etymological Dictionary of Greek by Robert Beekes
ISBN: 9789004174184

Publication Date: 2009

Covers 2000 years of Ancient Greek: from Mycenaean via Homer and the classical period to the 5th century A.D.

Reference works in classics

Loeb Classical Library
This virtual library contains all important in Greek and Latin literature: Eepic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 530 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

These are encyclopedias that cover the classical world broadly. The first one is online, but most of the others are in print in Coe Library. If you click the title, you'll get the call number and location of the books.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: Online

ISBN: 9780195170726

Publication Date: 2010

Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. --from the publisher
Brill's New Pauly by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmut Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar (Editor)
ISBN: 9004122591

Publication Date: 2011

This set of Brill's New Pauly (Antiquity) is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand. --from the publisher
Brill's New Pauly by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmut Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar (Editor)
ISBN: 9004122591

Publication Date: 2011

This set (Classical Tradition) is concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship. --from the publisher
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
ISBN: 3760887511

Publication Date: 1981

A venerable, multi-lingual source on the iconography of classical mythology.
The Cambridge Ancient History by I. E. S. Edwards (Editor); C. J. Gadd (Editor); N. G. L. Hammond (Editor)
ISBN: 0521070511

Publication Date: 3rd edition (library has other two as well)
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World by Richard J. A. Talbert (Editor)
ISBN: 069103169X

Publication Date: 2000

Fabulous atlas of the classical world.