LibGuides: German: Articles

German Literary Resources and Collections at UW

Sophie: Digital Library of works by German Speaking Women
The Sophie Digital Library is an open-access, full-text-searchable source of literature written by German-speaking women from medieval times through the early 20th century. The collection covers a broad spectrum of genres and is designed to showcase literary works that have been neglected for too long. These works are made available both in facsimiles of their original format, wherever possible, as well as in a PDF transcription that promotes ease of reading and is amenable to keyword searching.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Core article databases for German

We don't have any German-language only databases for secondary sources (like articles); however, you can choose to search in German in some. Always try searching on the word(s) in both German and English.

The databases below contain mostly scholarly journal articles, but may also include book chapters, conference papers, whole books, dissertations, and perhaps other formats. Check with your professor to see what you should use in a paper.

Google Scholar Deutsch
You can use this Google Scholar site to search for journal articles or books in Google Books in German.

Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek (part of ProQuest One Literature) This link opens in a new window
German literature full-text database that includes lyric poems from the 15th to 20th centuries. Part of the German Literature Collection on the ProQuest platform.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Major English and modern language indexing database that covers of journals, books and theses back to 1926.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Archive) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides complete back runs of journals in the following licensed collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV and VII, Life Sciences, Plant Sciences, Current Scholarship and Early Journal Content. On the JSTOR platform.

German literature

Brechts Werke (part of ProQuest One Literature) This link opens in a new window
German literature full-text database that includes all Berthold Brechts' works. Part of the German Literature Collections on the Chadwyck-Healey platform.
LuthersWerke This link opens in a new window
German literature full-text database that includes Martin Luther's complete works. Part of the German Literature Collection on the Chadwyck-Healey platform.
Schiller's Werke (part of ProQuest One Literature) This link opens in a new window
German literature full-text database that contains Friedrich von Schiller's complete works. Part of the German Literature Collection on the Chadwyck-Healey platform.
Kafkas Werke (part of ProQuest One Literature) This link opens in a new window
German literature full-text database that includes Franz Kafka’s complete works. Part of the German Literature Collection on the Chadwyck-Healey platform.
Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek (part of ProQuest One Literature) This link opens in a new window
German literature full-text database that includes lyric poems from the 15th to 20th centuries. Part of the German Literature Collection on the ProQuest platform.

International Literature databases including but not limited to German authors and works

Gale Literature Resource Center
Gale's Literature Resource Center is a reference source on authors and works in various literary genres. It includes work overviews and author biographies as well as critical essays.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

German author database

Kritisches Lexikon zur deutsch-sprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur
German literature reference database that provides biographies and critical information on post-1945 authors.

NOTE: only 3 people can search this at a time.

Getting full text

When you search any of the library's databases or use the article search box on the library's home page, you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:

Click the "Find It@UW" button
If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article appears
If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button.