LibGuides: Communication and Journalism: Articles

Getting full text

When you search any of the library's databases or use the article search box on the library's home page, you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:

Click the "Find It@UW" button
If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article appears
If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button

Using journal articles

Most current research in communication and related fields is published in peer-reviewed journal articles. What are those and how do they differ from other kinds of articles, you ask? Watch this video to find out! It's brief and fun.

from North Carolina State University Libraries

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Core Databases

Communication Abstracts - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Communication indexing database that covers journal articles back to 1972. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Major communication and mass media indexing database that covers journal articles back to 1915. On the EBSCOhost platform.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Database containing nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field meet the needs of researchers, including: advertisers, broadcast journalists, communications engineers, editors, graphic artists, information technology specialists, journalists, linguists, marketing professionals, media buyers, photographers, public relations professionals, publishers, sports commentators, students aspiring to careers in
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics indexing database that covers journals, books, reports and theses back to 1973. On the ProQuest platform.