LibGuides: Communication and Journalism: Background Information

Using background information

You get background information from reference sources, like encyclopedias. They are ideal for learning more about a topic or getting a good overview--you use them just like you use Wikipedia. Because they summarize information you generally can't use them in a research paper, but always check with your professor to be sure.

Many of the entries in these background sources are written by experts, such as communication professors or practicing journalists, and they can be quite lengthy. Remember to check for recommended / related sources at the end of the entries, as these will often be prominent articles or books that will cover the topic in more detail.

Background information sources in communication and journalism

These reference works cover aspects of communication broadly and have long entries. They are the best place to start learning more about potential topics.

They are all recent and all online.

Encyclopedia of Media and Communication
Synthesizes a wide array of works and perspectives on the making of meaning. The appendix includes timelines covering the whole historical record for each medium, from either antiquity or their inception to the present day. Each entry also features a bibliography linking readers to relevant resources for further reading. --from the publisher
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
Explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world. --from the publisher
Encyclopedia of Public Relations
Explores the evolution of the Public Relations field, with examples from history describing events, changing practices, and the key figures who developed and expanded the profession. --from the publisher
The Handbook of Global Online Journalism
Features a collection of readings from international practitioners and scholars that represent a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview of the relationship between the internet and journalism around the world. --from the publisher
Media History Digital Library
Open access archive of access to public domain materials (magazines and journals) dealing with media history. Database is largely focused on film, but has radio and television resources.

Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by Marcel Danesi
ISBN: 9781442695528
Publication Date: 2017-09-11
The most coherent treatment yet of these fields, the Encyclopedia of Media and Communication promises to be the standard reference text for the next generation of media and communication students and scholars.